10 Aug 2022

Kilkenny Under-21 hurling: Brennan makes one change for All-Ireland final

Kilkenny Under-21 hurling: Brennan makes one change for All-Ireland final

Limerick U-21 manager Tom Morrissey (left) and Kilkenny U-21 manager Eddie Brennan get their hands on the trophy ahead of this weekend’s Bord Gáis Energy U-21 All-Ireland final

Kilkenny under-21 hurling manager Eddie Brennan has made one change to his team for Saturday's All-Ireland final meeting with Limerick. 

Mullinavat's John Walsh returns to the side and will line out in midfield. The change sees Huw Lawlor revert to the half-back line, with Darren Mullen dropping to the bench. 

The Cats will be chasing their 12th title, and first since 2008, when they face Limerick in Semple Stadium on Saturday (throw-in 3pm). 

Kilkenny U21 Team v Limerick
1 Darren Brennan (St Lachtain's)

2 Michael Cody (Dunnamaggin)

3 Conor Delaney (Erin's Own)

4 Niall Mc Mahon (Erin's Own)

5 Huw Lawlor (O'Loughlin Gaels)

6 Jason Cleere (Bennettsbridge)

7 Tommy Walsh (Tullaroan)

8 Luke Scanlon (James Stephens)

9 Richie Leahy (Rower-Inistioge)

10 John Walsh (Mullinavat)

11 John Donnelly (Thomastown)

12 Sean Morrissey (Bennettsbridge)

13 Shane Walsh (Tullaroan)

14 Liam Blanchfield (Bennettsbridge)

15 Billy Ryan (Graigue-Ballycallan)

16 Alan Murphy (Glenmore)

17 James Burke (Thomastown)

18 Darren Mullen (Ballyhale Shamrocks)

19 Aidan Nolan (Dicksboro)

20 Pat Lyng (Rower-Inistioge, captain)

21 Martin Keoghan (Tullaroan)

22 Eoin Kenny (Slieverue)

23 Conor O'Carroll (Lisdowney)

24 James Bergin (Conahy Shamrocks)

Limerick have named an unchanged side for Saturday’s game. Cian Lynch and Kyle Hayes, both injury concerns ahead of the game, have been passed fit to play.

1 Eoghan McNamara (Doon)

2 Sean Finn (Bruff)

3 Darragh Fanning (Pallasgreen)

4 Dan Joy (Kilmallock)

5 Ronan Lynch (Na Piarsaigh)

6 Kyle Hayes (Kildimo/Pallaskenry)

7 Thomas Grimes (Na Piarsaigh)

8 Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen)

9 Robbie Hanley (Kilmallock)

10 Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell)

11 Barry Murphy (Doon)

12 Cian Lynch (Patrickswell)

13 Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh)

14 Tom Morrissey (Ahane, captain)

15 Barry Nash (South Liberties)

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.