Prender the man of the moment for the ’Town



Barrow Rangers0-15

TWO points in injury-time from corner-forward David Prendergast earned Thomastown victory in this All County junior hurling league game played at Paulstown on Monday.

The standard of play never reached any great height and provided little entertainment for a fair sized crowd, due mainly to the amount of fouls committed, with nearly half of the total scores coming from placed balls.

Thomastown were on top early on and by the 8th minutes were five points up from John Joe Farrell (3), Michael Donnelly and James O’Hanrahan. The remainder of the half belonged to Rangers, With a succession of pointed frees from Dermot Maher and Richard Doyle and points from play from Thomas Brennan and Cathal English.

Donnelly pointed three frees for Thomastown to leave Rangers in front at the break, 0-10 to 0-8.

Des Walsh narrowed the gap for Thomastown with a good point from out on the wing. Two excellent points from Cathal English and Jason Holden together with a free from Dermot Maher stretched Rangers lead to four points. Donnelly narrowed the gap with two pointed frees.

Within a minute two gilt edge goal chances were missed at either side before Farrell with two great scores brought the sides level on 21 minutes at 0 – 13 each. Donnelly and Cathal English exchanged points before Maher pointed the home side in front from a free. Donnelly levelled matters again on the stroke of normal time, before Prendergast popped up for the two points to seal victory for his side.

Best for Thomastown were Brian Murphy, Peter O’Hanrahan, Michael Donnelly, John Joe Farrell, Des Walsh and David Prendergast. For Rangers Richard Doyle, Tom Brennan, Thomas Brennan, John Kealy, Sean McDonald and Dermot Maher were most prominent.

Thomastown - Dylan Walsh, Sean O’Mahoney, Brian Murphy, Mick Cullen, Derek Lanigan, Peter O’Hanrahan, James Hoyne, Shane Lanigan, Michael Donnelly (0-8), Padraig Caulfield, John Joe Farrell (0-5), Des Walsh (0-1), David Prendergast (0-2), James O’Hanrahan (0-1), Eoin Manning.

Barrow Rangers - Ian Holden, Kevin McDonald, John Kealy, Tom Brennan, Martin Dormer, Richard Doyle (0-2), Sean McDonald, Shane McEvoy, William Hennessy, Martin Bambrick, Thomas Brennan (0-1), Jason Holden (0-1), Cathal English (0-3), Dermot Maher (0-8), Thomas Whitely. Sub: Kevin Brennan

Referee - Pat Hayes.