Conahy conquer neighbours

Conahy Shamrocks 1-13

Conahy Shamrocks 1-13

St Patrick’s0-9

Conahy Shamrocks won this battle of neighbours when they put in a strong second half performance to see off the challenge of St Patrick’s (Ballyragget) in a minor hurling league game played in dry but cold conditions at the Polo Grounds in Jenkinstown.

In a match that turned into something of a free-taking contest between minor inter-county colleagues Peter Vickery (Conahy) and Kevin Kelly (St Pat’s) Conahy were first off the mark with a pointed Vickery free after two minutes. St Patrick’s hit back with a point from corner-forward before hitting a purple patch; four unanswered points (including three frees) from centre-forward Kelly left them 0-5 to 0-1 ahead after 12 minutes.

There was no further scoring until the 19th minute, when Peter Vickery knocked over a free for Conahy, but Kevin Kelly converted a 65 to restore the Saints’ four-point lead.

Vickery then fired over a great point from out on the right wing as the Conahy side tried to raise their efforts. However, St Patrick’s had the final say of the half when Kelly pointed a free to leave his side four clear at half-time (0-7 to 0-3). Six of the seven Ballyragget scores came from centre-forward Kelly.

Conahy upped their game considerably in the second half and two early points from Peter Vickery brought them right back into the game. Kevin Kelly kept the Ballyragget side in the driving seat with a good point in the 36th minute.

It looked like St Patrick’s had a great chance to cement their lead when they were awarded a penalty after a foul on Sean Gleeson, but Kevin Kelly’s well struck shot was saved. That save spurred on Conahy who, by the 48th minute, had drawn level thanks mainly to the accuracy of Peter Vickery, who scored 0-10 of his side’s total.

The Shamrocks were looking increasingly like winners, but the defining moment didn’t arrive until the 57th minute, when David White had the only goal of the game to put Conahy six points clear and on their way to a deserved victory.

Conahy Shamrocks - Padraig Delaney, Liam Cass, Nick Feehan, Eoin Coogan, James Delaney, Eoin Carroll, Phil Cass, John Mullen, David Kennedy, Peter Vickery (0-10, 0-7 frees), Gary Dunne (0-1), Gearoid Whelan, Tom Phelan, David White (1-1), Conor Buggy. Sub: Ollie Feehan (0-1).

St Patrick’s - Billy Morrissey, Niall Brophy, Lorcan Price, Billy Butler, Shane Glennon, Paddy McEvoy, Jack O’Shea, Robert Healy, Conor Bolger, Jack Ryan, Kevin Kelly (0-7, 0-4 frees, 0-1 65), David Kelly (0-1), Aaron George, Brendan Brophy, Sean Gleeson (0-1). Sub: John Phelan.

Referee - Paddy Neary (James Stephens).