Quilty elected chairman of Camogie Board

THE Kilkenny Camogie Board looked back on a year of change when they held their annual meeting recently.

THE Kilkenny Camogie Board looked back on a year of change when they held their annual meeting recently.

A small attendance at the Springhill Court Hotel heard chairwoman Catherine Neary give her address in her final year as head of the Camogie Board.

At the helm since December 2005, during her address Ms Neary outlined the major improvements in Camogie across the county over the previous six years. She pointed out that the number of clubs participating in the county has grown from 27 in 2005 to 33 in 2011, and the structures of all the club championships have been revised and restructured. This meant that every player and team at adult has a minimum of five games every year as opposed to just the one game guaranteed per club that existed prior to her appointment.

The outgoing chairwoman also pointed out that the financial state has improved substantially over the past six years. Sponsorship from J.J. Kavanagh and Iverk Produce has left a positive impact, helping transform the Board’s financial aspect into a reasonable health state.

Iverk Produce, who have been the main inter-county sponsors over the past three years, have ended their sponsorship. Ms Neary thanked both Paul Brophy and Joe O’Shea for their support. She was extremely grateful to St Canice’s Credit Union for their sponsorships of the local championships since 2007, adding her gratitude to Mary Howley, who stepped down from her role as treasurer.

Secretary Sheila Norris, in her report, said that 2011 had been a very good year for camogie in Kilkenny, adding that the future looks good with both the minors and under-16s reaching their respective All-Ireland finals.

Denis Nolan in his first year as registrar was very grateful to the clubs for their co-operation throughout the year, while PRO Michael O’Leary thanked the media and the clubs for the excellent co-operation throughout 2011 in helping to promote the sport.

A number of motions were proposed on the night, all receiving strong approval.

Club registrations, regradings, and transfers within the county shall be submitted on or before the last day of January.

The official guide of all bylaws of Kilkenny Camogie Board shall be updated annually and furnished to all club secretaries and members of the THDC annually.

The coaches for the county under-18, under-16 and under-14 teams shall be elected at the annual convention. Coaches may appoint one or two selectors to assist them in the selection of teams.

All decisions relating to promotion and relegation between under-age divisions shall be entirely decided by the fixtures sub committee, with all reasonable requests from clubs to be considered before the final fixture list is drawn up.

Also passed was a proposed rule change by the Piltown Club that players must meet the following age criteria to be eligible to participate in competitions - Under-12: under-12 and over-8; Under-14: under-14 and over-10; Under-16: under-16 and over-12; Under-18: under-18 and over-14; Under-21: under-21 and over-14.

In the election of officers Martin Quilty (Slieverue), who had served has vice-chairman since 2006, was promoted to chairperson.

Joan Gaule (Windgap) was named vice-chairwoman, while Geraldine Holden (Mullinavat) replaced Mary Howley as county treasurer.

Sheila Norris goes into her first full year as secretary while Kate Foley continues as fixtures committee. She stated that organising fixtures requires a huge amount of dedication and commitment, adding that she would appreciate greater help in that area. Joan Gaule and Michael O’Leary agreed to help out on the fixtures committee. Denis Nolan continues as registrar while Dave Gallagher (Ballyhale Shamrocks) filled the vacant development officer that arose since the departure of Carolyn O’Dowd.

The nominations for Kilkenny inter-county managers were also announced for 2012.

Liz Dempsey and Paddy Kelly go into their third years as under-14 and under-16 managers respectively. However, the minor managerial position has to be filled as Brendan Williams and Ted Browne have stepped down following a highly successful reign in which they guided the county to four consecutive All-Ireland championships from 2006 to 2009.

The senior managerial position has to be filled after Anne Downey stepped down. Downey had been at the helm since 2007.