Fab four earn All-Star nominations

Trevor Spillane


Trevor Spillane

Kilkenny's Kieran Joyce has been included in the shortlist for the 2013 All-Stars. Photo: Eoin Hennessy
Four Kilkenny senior hurlers are in the running to pick up All-Star awards.

Four Kilkenny senior hurlers are in the running to pick up All-Star awards.

The nominations, which were announced by the GAA and the Gaelic Players Association, sees just four of Brian Cody’s side listed for their performances in the 2013 championship. The Cats had five players in the 2012 All-Stars team.

Former Hurler of the Year nominee and two-time All-Star Paul Murphy is included the full-back list, with Kieran Joyce one of nine players listed in the half-back section. This is Joyce’s second successive year to earn a nomination.

Given the county’s injury problems in the centre it is not surprising to see them miss out on a midfield nomination, but just two of the forwards have been included.

Eoin Larkin, who scored 0-50 in his six championship games, made the cut in the half-forward listing. The Hurler of the Year in 2008, Larkin is searching for his third All-Star, having won awards in 2008 and 2009.

Richie Hogan, an All-Star winner in 2011, is the county’s only nomination in the full-forward section.

All-Ireland hurling champions Clare lead the way with 13 nominations, Beaten finalists Cork have nine players on the shortlist as have Leinster champions Dublin. Interestingly Galway, who led the way with 14 nominations for the 2012 All-Stars, failed to pick up a nomination for the 2013 awards - so too Tipperary, who had six nominations last year.

The final selection will be made on Wednesday November 6 before the final 15 are presented with their awards two days later at the All-Star banquet at Croke Park.

Goalkeepers: Anthony Nash (Cork), Patrick Kelly (Clare), Gary Maguire (Dublin).

Full-backs: David McInerney (Clare), Domhnall O’Donovan (Clare), Richie McCarthy (Limerick), Tom Condon (Limerick), Peter Kelly (Dublin), Shane O’Neill (Cork), Conor O’Sullivan (Cork), Paul Murphy (Kilkenny), Tomás Waters (Wexford).

Half-backs: Brendan Bugler (Clare), Patrick Donnellan (Clare), Liam Rushe (Dublin), Michael Carton (Dublin), Brian Murphy (Cork), Wayne McNamara (Limerick), Gavin O’Mahony (Limerick), Kieran Joyce (Kilkenny), Michael Walsh (Waterford).

Midfield: Conor Ryan (Clare), Colm Galvin (Clare), Joey Boland (Dublin), Paul Browne (Limerick), Daniel Kearney (Cork), Kevin Moran (Waterford).

Half-forwards: Tony Kelly (Clare), John Conlon (Clare), Colin Ryan (Clare), Séamus Harnedy (Cork), Patrick Cronin (Cork), Conal Keaney (Dublin), Danny Sutcliffe (Dublin), James Ryan (Limerick), Eoin Larkin (Kilkenny).

Full-forwards: Pádraic Collins (Clare), Conor McGrath (Clare), Shane O’Donnell (Clare), Patrick Horgan (Cork), Conor Lehane (Cork), Paul Ryan (Dublin), David O’Callaghan (Dublin), Graeme Mulcahy (Limerick), Richie Hogan (Kilkenny).

Hurler of the Year: Tony Kelly (Clare), Anthony Nash (Cork), Padraic Collins (Clare).

Young Player of the Year: Tony Kelly (Clare), David McInerney (Clare), Padraic Collins (Clare).