Minors improve and down Leinster champs

Kilkenny 0-17 Dublin 2-7

Kilkenny 0-17 Dublin 2-7

A six point unanswered take during the third quarter, which saw them battle back from interval arrears to get 0-13 to 2-4 in front, turned the tide for Kilkenny when they dethroned champions, Dublin in the Leinster minor hurling championship in Parnell Park on Saturday.

The Dubs opened backed by the strong wind, but after scoring two early points through Sean Treacy they lost their way. The Cats made hay, and with four scores from free taker Alan Murphy they looked good when leading by 0-6 to 0-2 after 20 minutes.

The losers stormed back, and a goal from a penalty by goalie Jonathan Treacy and a delightful one from Chris Bennett, shot them into an interval led of 2-4 to 0-7.

The visitors took over after the restart, and when Liam Blanchfield hit the target in the 44th minute they were 0-13 to 2-4 in front. It was a tough slog afterwards, but Kilkenny claimed victory, a place in the Leinster final against Laois on July 7, plus inclusion in the All-Ireland series.

Scorers: Kilkenny – Alan Murphy (0-9, eight frees, one 65); Ciaran Ryan (0-2); Jason Stanley, Liam Blanchfield, Gary Kenny, Kevin Kenny, Daniel O’Connor, Michael Kenny (0-1 each). Dublin – Chris Bennett (1-2); Sean Treacy (0-4, three frees); Jonathan Treacy (1-1, goal penalty, point free).

Kilkenny – Darren Brennan; Evan Cody, Darragh Joyce, James Tyrrell, capt; Jason Stanley, James Maher, Ciaran Wallace; Niall Mullins, Ciaran Ryan; Gary Kelly, Liam Blanchfield, Vinny Teehan; Kevin Kenny, Daniel O’Connor, Alan Murphy. Subs – John Walsh for Teehan ht; Michael Kenny for G. Kelly 40th min; Eoin Kenny for D. O’Connor 49th min.

Dublin – J. Treacy; J. Malone, C. MacGabhann, J. Bellew; M. Cavanagh, S. Barrett, F. O Rianin Broin; R. McBride, A. Jamieson Murphy; S. Ryan, S. Treacy, E. Conroy; C. O’Callaghan, C. Boland, C. Bennett. Subs – S. Mac Gilla Riadh for S. Ryan 53rd min;

Referee – P. O’Dwyer (Carlow).