Lively ’Comer continue
on their winning way

Erin’s Own 2-14

Erin’s Own 2-14

Slieverue 2-11

Erin’s Own of Castlecomer claimed their third win in the All county junior hurling league campaign when they trumped Slieverue by a hard earned three points in Canon Kearns Park on Friday.

Dermot Wallace got ’Comer off to a flying start when he found the goal with a smashing strike from close range just four minutes in. Michael Hoyne pointed for the Southern men before Darragh Brennan slotted over his first of the afternoon.

’Comer were dominating and further points from Mikey Dwyer and Anthony Kavanagh extended their advantage. Padraig Keating shot over a massive effort from the centre-back position before Ciaran McDermott buried Erin’s Own second goal after the lay off from Dermot Wallace.

Paul Rockett and Mikey Dwyer traded scores to leave Slieverue trailing at half time by 2-7 to 0-3 points.

Step up performance

Slievrue had struck some scorable efforts wide of the posts and were going to have to step up their performance to try to reduce the defecit. The Southerners started the second half the brighter of the two teams, with Niall Walsh finishing smartly to the net after a mix up in the ’Comer defence.

Slieverue shot over four points without reply, courtesy of Niall Walsh and Michael Hoyne, before Darragh Brennan got his second after an Anthony Kavanagh lay-off. Martin Dowling and Dylan Haberlin pointed for Slieverue before Darragh Brenan, who had been outstanding all afternoon, slotted over his third from play.

The Southern side continued to press, however, and the pressure paid off with just two minutes left, midfielder Paul Rockett buried a 21 yard free to leave just two points between the sides. Ciaran McDermott wrapped up the points for ’Comer, however, when he capped off a fine display with a strike from midfield.

Scorers: Erin’s Own - Ciaran McDermott (1-2); Mikey Dwyeer (0-4, three frees); Dermot Wallace (1-1); Darragh Brennan (0-3); Eoghan Mealey, Anthony Kavanagh, Padraig Keating (0-1 each); Eddie Brennan (0-1, free). Slieverue - Paul Rockett (1-2, points frees); Niall Walsh (1-2); Martin Dowling (0-3); Dylan Haberlin (0-2, one free); Michael Hoyne, Brian Grant (0-1 each).

Erin’s Own - David Buggy, Joe Meagher, Danny Byrne, David Moran, Thomas Dwyer, Padraig Keating, Ciaran Wallace, Eoghan Mealey, Declan Dunne, Eddie Brennan, Ciaran McDermott, Mikey Dwyer, Darragh Brennan, Dermot Wallace, Anthony Kavanagh. Subs - Shane Rice, Andrew Dowd.

Slieverue - Jamie O Brien, Ricky Hogan, Sean Roche, Ross Kelly, David Walsh, Mark Haberlin, Kieran Dowling, Paul Rockett, Dylan Haberlin, Martin Dowling, Michael Hoyne, Brian Grant, Christopher Butler, Niall Walsh, Cian Tyler.