’Stephens start well and never look back

James Stephens2-19

James Stephens2-19


JAMES Stephens took control of things from the start and they never looked back when they won this lively and well contested Aylward Cup hurling league tie played in ideal conditions in Tullogher.

Tullogher were hit for unanswered points by David McCormack (2), Niall Mullins and David Walton during the opening six minutes as the opposition lay down a marker. Four times after that there was an exchange of points before the losers put two scores together for the first time per Moling Cottrell and Eoin Mullally to reduce the deficit to 0-6 to 0-9.

The winners finished the half smartly, and a brace of scores from David Walton and Ricci Drennan helped them into an interval lead of 0-11 to 0-7.

Tullogher lost another point after the turn, this time to David McCormack, before Eoin Mullally registered for them. However, five minutes into the half the losers were hit for a goal.

Tomas O’Dowd applied an expert finish after winning a free driven in by Walton. In fairness to the losers, they gathered themselves smartly and three scores on the bounce from John Barry (2) and Eoin Mullally undid the damage of the goal conceded.

However, that was as good as it was to get for the losers. Three times subsequently the teams traded minor scores before James Stephens produced a big finish that yielded points for Walton and Anthony Lawlor (2) before a 60th minute goal from Niall Mullins seal the issue completely.

Scorers: James Stephens - David Walton (0-11, three frees); Niall Mullins (1-1); David McCormack (0-3); Anthony Lawlor (0-3); Tomas O’Dowd (1-0); Ricci Dreennan (0-1). Tullogher-Rosbercon - Eoin Mullally (0-5); John Barron (0-3, frees); Moling Cottrell, John Murphy (0-2 each); Michael O’Brien, Tony Conway (0-1 each).

James Stephens - Derrick Brnenan, Luke Hickey, Pat Butler, John Comerford, Darren Leahy, Niall McQuillan, Shane Campion, Ray Coady, David McCormack, Niall Mullins, David Walton, Maurice Harkin, Anthony Lawlor, Tomas O’Dowd, Riccie Drennan.

Tullogher-Rosbercon - Martin Roche, Ian Power, Declan Brenenan, Terence Croke, Anthony Cottrell, Pat Hartley, John Grennan, Tony Conway, John Cottrell, Molin Cottrell, John Barron, John Murphy, James Mullally, Eoin Mullally, Padraic Ryan. Subs - Amby Malone, B. Forristal, E. Ryan, M. O’Brien.