’Bridge can create a bit of history

Huggh O'Neill (Bennettsbridge) gets away from Seamus Kearns (Mooncoin) during the Junior Hurling County Final in Nowlan Park. (Photo: Eoin Hennessy)
What has been dubbed the ‘golden generation’ of Bennettsbridge hurlers has been urged to go out and write their own piece of history.

What has been dubbed the ‘golden generation’ of Bennettsbridge hurlers has been urged to go out and write their own piece of history.

The ’Bridge is one of the big, big names of Kilkenny hurling. However, for years success at adult level eluded them and in recent times they felt the pain of two consecutive defeats in county junior finals.

The young braves kicked on smartly, however, and on November 9 they won the Kilkenny junior championship.

On Saturday in Tullamore (1.30pm) they will be chasing their first ever win in the Leinster club junior final against Shamrocks (Offaly).

“The fact we won in the under-21 championship at the weekend was a help. We have a strong momentum going and we want to drive on,” insisted ’Bridge manager, Christy Walsh.

“These guys can write their own history and add it to the great history of a great club,” he added. “For seven years or so, since they did well in Feile, they have been going well and winning Leinster would cap a lot of fine achievements.

“We are ready for a huge effort. Chances like this don’t come along too often. You have to go for it. We will do that.”

Since capturing what was their third junior title (1948 and 1951) the ’Bridge have seen off Dunderry of Meath (4-25 to 0-4) and Crossabeg Ballymury of Wexford (1-19 to 0-11) in the provincial championship.

They have a fine group of players, one of the best in decades, who are dedicated to the game and the cause of the club.

This can be a very good era for Bennettsbridge, if the players retrain the focus and commitment that has brought them to where they are today.

The ability is there to achieve great things, but Saturday’s test could derail things if Shamrocks are not given the respect they deserve.

Not so long ago Bennettsbridge felt the hurt and knew the darkness that goes with defeat. They know the feeling they want leaving Tullamore. Go for it!

Bennettsbridge panel - Enda Cleere, Sean Wemyss, Robert Lennon (capt), James Moran, Jason Cleere, Enda Morrissey, Aidan Cleere, Darragh Wafer, Kevin Blanchfield, Hugh O’Neill, Brian Lannon, Nicky Cleere, Liam Blanchfield, Cormac Wafer, Sean Morrissey, Ben Tynan, Micheál Shiel, William Murphy, Edward Fitzgerald, Edward Murphy, Kevin Brennan, Dylan Walsh, Patrick O’Neill, Richard Walsh, Bill O’Neill, Gareth Hickey, Paul O’Neill, Shane Nolan, Aidan Byrne, Shane Byrne, Luke Dowling, Michael Power, Damian O’Donovan, Brian O’Neill, Maurice Walsh, Tom Kiely, Jospeh Murphy, Ronan O’Connor.