Kieran’s clinch grand slam in extra-time

St Kieran’s College 3-16

St Kieran’s College 3-16

Kilkenny CBS 4-8

(after extra-time)

ST KIERAN’S college, Kilkenny completed the grand slam in Leinster hurling when they won a titanic struggled against great rivals Kilkenny CBS in the Roinn A provincial final of the juvenile championship.

This was a repeat of the League final played in March when Kieran’s triumphed by the slimmest of margins. The CBS nearly broke them this time, but Kieran’s came back from arrears with time running out to force the issue into additional time.

This game was no different to the league in that the quality of hurling was right out of the top drawer, and so too was the level of excitement throughout. There were heroes and great scores aplenty as two daring sides let the creative juices flow.

Early losses

The CBS suffered early losses when Tadgh O’Dwyer opened the scoring for the opposition. Thus began a series of events that shaped the play in the first half.

The CBS went straight down the field and Philly Cahill made the best of an opportunity that came his way to score the first goal of the game. Jason Byrne scored a point for Kieran’s after hard work by Liam Blanchfield.

Jamie Byrne then flashed home a second goal for the CBS side, 2-0 to 0-2. Kieran’s rallied again and enjoyed the lion’s share of play with Kevin and Darren Mullen in dominant form. Darren Mullen was moved to centre-back and this settled Kieran’s at the back.

Jason Byrne added another point before the CBS grabbed their third goal through Bill Cuddihy. Ray Lahart tapped over Kieran’s fourth point and also added their final score before half time when the score was 3-0 to 0-5.

The CBS pounced for their fourth goal through Philly Cahill.

The second half began with Kieran’s on the attack. Ray Lahart, Liam Blanchfield and Lahart again all scored points before Blanchfield got through for a goal following a rebound from an effort by Paddy Mullally (4-0 to1-8).

The CBS battled back for a minor score from Robert Buckley. Kieran’s were on the front foot and they kept pressing the CBS goal.

Level with 10 to go

With 10 minutes remaining the teams were level for the first time in the game. Later Robert Buckley scored a good pressure point from a free for the CBS to put them in front entering the closing stages.

And when Lahart missed a close in free, things looked bad for Kieran’s. Lahart composed himself and sent over the equalising score. The match went to extra-time.

Playing against the wind, St Kieran’s drove on. Blanchfield scored the first point before substitute Niall Walsh from Windgap smashed the ball into the CBS net. The hurt the losers, badly. Kieran’s were up by four.

The game CBS pulled two points back before the break.

The second 10 minutes of extra-time were dominated by Kieran’s as the CBS seemed to run out of steam. Lahart scores a goal and point before Blanchfield and Morrissey pointed for the now dominant college.

Niall Walsh finished the scoring with a find individual point. Kevin Mullen lifted the Dr Barry Cup which completed an unprecedented clean sweep of all hurling competitions this year for St Kieran’s College.

Stars for the losers werer Robert Buckley, who played very well, Kevin Galvin, Philip Cahill, Cathal McGrath and Luke Scanlon.

St Kieran’s College - Jason Barcoe (Clara), Eoin Delaney (James Stephens), Eoin Walsh (Lisdowney), Edmond Delaney (Conahy Shamrocks), Jack Keoghan (Tullaroan), Sean Morrissey (Bennetsbridge), Darren Mullen (Ballyhale Shamrocks), Kevin Mullen (Ballyhale Shamrocks), Liam Blanchfield (Bennetsbridge), Greg Alyward (Harps, Durrow), Jason Byrne (Clara), Tadhg O’Dwyer (James Stephens), Ray Lahart (James Stephens), Daniel O’Connor (O’Loughlin Gaels), Eamonn Hennessey (St Lachtain’s). Subs - Gavin Costigan (James Stephens), Richie Leahy (Rower-Inistioge), Conor Phelan (Ballyhale Shamrocks), Eoghan Kearney (Dunnamaggin), Edward Moylan (Dicksboro), Niall Walsh (Windgap), Billy Ryan (Graigue Ballycallan), Noel Whelan (James Stephens), Kevin Brennan (Bennetsbridge), Jimmy Brennan (Barrow Rangers), Phillip Cooney (Danesfort), Gary Tynan (Danesfort), Joseph Connoly (Clara), Michal Cody (Dunamaggin), Joseph Cuddihy (Ballyhale Shamrocks), Jason Cleere (Bennetsbridge), Billy O’Hanlon (Barrow Rangers), Phillip Dreeling (Young Irelands).

Kilkenny CBS - Paddy Mullally (O’Loughlin’s), Mark Slater (Dicksobro), Kevin Galvin (Clara), Cormack O’Driscoll (Clara), Diarmuid Doheny (Tullaroan), Cathal McGrath (John Lockes), Eoin McGovern, capt (O’Loughlin’s), Luke Scanlon (James Stephens), Corey Chaill (Dickboro), Ross butler (O’Loughlin’s), Bill Cuddihy (Tullaroan), Philip Cahill (Graigue-Ballycallan), Jamie Byrne (Dicksboro), Gary Bryan (O’Loughlin’s), Robet Buckley (O’Loughlin’s). Subs - Mark Drennan (Barrow Rangers) for D. Doheny; Robbbie Murphy (Dicksboro) for J. Byrne; Diarmuid Doheny for R. Butler,