Lisdowney best on a day when the defences ruled

Lisdowney 2-3

Lisdowney 2-3

Graignamanagh/Skeoughvosteen 0-6

The Allianz Cumann-na-mBunscol second final in St John’s Park was a repeat of the 2011 Top Oil Tommy O’Brien Cup decider between Lisdowney and Graiguenamanagh/Skeoughvosteen.

Lisdowney were best again, but only after a tense struggle against a determined outfit. Despite the lowest score of the day this was by far the best game of the three finals. Both sides gave a wonderful display of blocking and hooking. The outcome was in doubt up to the final whistle.

Lisdowney opened with the breeze. Their goalie, Cathal Power, had to come to the rescue early as Skeough chased a big opening score. Niall Brennan showed great skill to get Lisdowney off the mark in the third minute with a fine point.

Richard Foley levelled with a difficult free from near the sideline. David O’Carroll edged Lisdowney

in front with a fine point from midfield. The winners pressure earned them a 65. David O’Carroll’s shot was

deflected into the net.

Richard Foley immediately replied for Skeough with a pointed free. The losers exerted heavy pressure but they could not get scores. Niall Brennan and Shane Byrne had a great tussle and both showed great skill.

Richard Foley, who was great for Graigue/Skeough, pointed a free to close the gap. Lisdowney were on top for the remainder of the half. Stevie Dunne hit the post but they could not add to their tally.

At the break Lisdowney led by 1-2 to 0-3.

The losers charged into the attack after the rest. Richard Foley pointed a free to leave the minimum between them. Both sides threw everything forward in an attempt to win, but thanks to good defending there wasn’t a score for 11 minutes.

Midway through the half David O’Carroll pointed a free to put Lisdowney two up. Richard Foley took on the Lisdowney defence and was fouled. Joe Dowling elected to shoot for a goal. His shot was saved. Richard Foley pointed a free to reduce the divide to the minimum. The winners went on the attack. Niall Brennan gathered the sliotar and sent in a long delivery. The ball was flicked to the net by Eoin Delaney.

The losers switched centre-back Shane Byrne into attack in a last valiant attempt to save the day. Determined Lisdowney held out. Both sides must be complimented on a fine game full of intensity, effort and honesty.

Lisdowney - Cathal Power, Luke Campion, Laurence Campion, Jack McGree, Eimear Walsh, Mark Fitzpatrick, Ben Tallis, Conor Tallis, David O’Carroll (capt), Marty McEvoy, Niall Brennan, Aidan Tallis, Eoin Delaney, Chloe Mullins, Stevie Dunne. Subs - Eoin Kenny, Sean Keyes, Shane Grace, Dean Brophy, Michael McInerney, Hugh Murphy, Eddie Cahill, Rory Kenny, Mairead Kennedy, Holly Moore, Claire O’Carroll, Emma McEvoy, Aoibheann Murphy, Laura O’Sullivan, Jack Crosby, Jake D’Arcy, Lee McCann, Ross McCann.

Graignamanagh/Skeoughvosteen - Aaron Foley (capt), Danny Sheehy, Sean Walsh, Killian Phelan, Sean Cosgrave, Shane Byrne, Eoin Cullen, Joe Dowling, Richard Foley, Sean Holden, Ian Foley, Jason Byrne,

Keelan O’Grady, Ben Savage, Steven Cahill. Subs - Sean Fogarty, Oisin Aylward, Sean Dempsey, Paddy Heffernan, Thomas Doherty, John Cahill, Eoghan Byrne.

Referee - Maurice Flynn (Mooncoin).