New managers to rule

NEARLY half of the Kilkenny senior clubs will charge into the 2013 hurling season with new management teams at the helm, writes John Knox.

NEARLY half of the Kilkenny senior clubs will charge into the 2013 hurling season with new management teams at the helm, writes John Knox.

City sides, James Stephens and O’Loughlin Gaels have appointed new managers. So too have Carrickshock and Erin’s Own (Castlecomer) while promoted intermediate champions, Clara will lose their current boss before the end of next month because of work commitments.

Fogarty takes over

Former Offaly and Leinster star, Aidan Fogarty, has taken over from Michael Nolan as manager at O’Loughlin’s, while Mark Tyrrell, brother of county ace, Jackie, will head up The Village management team following the departure of Niall Rigney, who led the club to championship success in 2011.

David Buggy has taken over the hot seat in Castlecomer, while Maurice Power steps into the vacancy at Carrickshock following the departure of Brendan Fennelly, who did a stint as Laois manager last season, and has now thrown in his lot with Kilmacow.

Championship kings, Ballyhale Shamrocks will confirm their management team at the upcoming annual meeting, but no changes are on the cards it would appear.

Beaten county finalists, Dicksboro have already reappointment last year’s successful back room team headed by Ger. Henderson.

Martin’s and Fenians ready

St Martin’s (Muckalee) and Fenians (Johnstown) are the only clubs currently without a manager or Selection Committee. The Fenians will confirm the appointments at the weekend, while there is said to be fair interest in the Muckalee job which became available following the departure of Sean O’Neill.

Meanwhile, former Kilkenny star, Eddie Brennan, has climbed aboard the management merry-go-round. He will dip his toe in the team handling waters when he takes on the role of coach with junior club, Lisdowney. He will continue playing with his home club, Graigue-Balycallan, however.

All the appointments

O’Loughlin Gaels (new appointments) – Aidan Fogarty (manager), Colin Furlong, Dinny Tyrrell, Barry Power.

James Stephens (new appointments) – Mark Tyrrell (manager), Philly Larkin, Fran Whelan, Tim Butler.

Dicksboro (unchanged) – Ger Henderson (manager), Liam Maher, E.J. Ryan, John O’Gorman, Mick O’Flynn.

Erin’s Own (new appointments) – David Buggy (manager), Pat Comerford, Larry O’Neill.

Ballyhale Shamrocks (to be confirmed; change not expected) – Tommy Shefflin (manager), P.M. O’Sullivan, Michael Kelly, John Drennan.

St Martin’s (no appointments) – Manager for the past two seasons, Sean O’Neill and his selectors stepped down.

Carrickshock (new appointments) – Maurice Power (manager), Liam Cahill (hurling coach), Jimmy Sheehan and Jim O’Shea (selectors).

Danesfort (some changes) – Liam Dowling (manager), Dick Mahony, Ted Walsh, Maurice Woodcock.

Clara (change on the way) – Manager Robert Shortall will step down because of work commitments after Clara’s involved in the All-Ireland intermediate club championship concludes. The Selection Committee is expected to follow suit.

Graigue-Ballycallan (unchanged) – Tommy Bawle (manager), Johnny Ronan, Conor Power.

Tullaroan (unchanged) – Declan Connolly (manager). He will appoint the selectors shortly.

Fenians (no appointments) – The officials are expected to be in place for the annual meeting at the weekend.