Little cross-border movement

Only four men, to the best of our knowledge, have played senior championship hurling with both Kilkenny and Tipperary

Only four men, to the best of our knowledge, have played senior championship hurling with both Kilkenny and Tipperary


When attached to Thurles he lined out for Tipperary in the 1912 Munster semi-final in the Ennis Showgrounds on August 18. The visitors won by 3-3 to 2-3 but he did not feature in the subsequent Munster final defeat by Cork.

Back with his native Johnstown, with whom he won a county senior hurling championship medal in 1914, Piery hurled with Kilkenny against Laois in the 1915 Leinster semi-final in Ballyduff Park, Tullamore on June 5. The O’Moore County emerged winners by 4-1 to 2-6.


A native of Cashel, whilst based in the Army in Kilkenny, he threw in his lot with James Stephens and lined out with Kilkenny in the 1927 Leinster senior hurling championship. He made three appearaces against Laois, Offaly and Dublin in the Croke Park final when, though defeated, he found the net.

Transferring to Thurles, Connie, between 1928 and 1934, played six senior championship matches with Tipperary, scoring 0-3.

Unluckily, he never even played in a Munster final, beaten in semi-finals in 1928, 1929 and 1931, a first round loss in 1934. He was not on the panel when Tipp went all the way to All-Ireland honours in 1930.

Connie, on his move back to Thurles, brought with him three Kilkenny born sons of The Village with Connie (junior), goalkeeper Mick ‘Blackie’ and Larry Keane all playing senior championship hurling with Tipperary. Larry won an All-Ireland medal in 1958.


A native of Callan, he twice captained Kilkenny, first in 1950 when having helped Graigue win the 1949 senior championship he led the black and amber in the All-Ireland final parade (v Tipperary) and again in 1958, a year after he inspired his own John Lockes to a historic first snior championship win.

Mick liftting the Bob O’Keeffe Cup but was a non-playing captain for the All-Ireland semi-final against Tipperary.

In between, Army man Mick, whilst stationed in Clonmel, captained Tipperary, as a St Mary’s clubman, to the 1953 All-Ireland junior hurling title. Then as a 13th Battalion Clonmel clubman he won a 1953-54 NHL medal with Tipp as a right half back.

He subsequently lined out in the same position in that year’s Munster senior championship semi-final victory over Clare in the Limerick Gaelic Grounds before coming on as a sub at the same venue in the Premier County’s narrow Munster final defeat against Cork.

Mick played 10 senior hurling championship games with Kilkenny, scoring 5-20 (3-20 of which came during the title-winning 1957 campaign, 2-5 in the All-Ireland final victory over Waterford).


Denis Byrne, who from 1994 to 2001 made 18 championship appearances with the black and amber, scoring 3-18, captained the Cats to the 1999 Leinster title. He won a coveted Celtic cross the following year.

Subsequently he transferred from Graigue-Ballycallan to Mullinahone, declaring for Tippeary. He lined out in the blue and gold in three championship fixtures in 2003, scoring 0-6.

* Matt Ruth, prior to playing senior championship hurling with Kilkenny (and Limerick) won an All-Ireland intermediate hurling championship medal with Tipperary in 1971. The Ballyragget native was then playing his club hurling with St Mary’s in Clonmel.


Mick Ryan, a native of Roscrea, played club hurling with Dicksboro in the late 1940s whilst lining out in the blue and gold of Tipperary.

Likewise in 2009 Paul Kelly of Mullinahone hurled championship with Tipp when playing his club hurling with O’Loughlin Gaels in Kilkenny.

We can find no trace of a man playing club hurling in Tipperary at the same time as playing championship hurling with Kilkenny.