Strong second half leads Kilmacow to spoils

Kilmacow 1-15

Kilmacow 1-15

St Patrick’s 1-11

KILMACOW took their second brace of points in the junior hurling league/championship when they outscored St Patrick’s (Ballyragget) in a hard-fought encounter at the Kilmacow Sports Complex on Sunday afternoon.

Aided by the stiff breeze St Patrick’s raced into a 0-5 to 0-1 lead by the end of the opening quarter. Three of those points came from centre-forward Seoirse Kenny, corner-forward Michael Brennan grabbing the other two. Kilmacow’s point was scored by Michael Sweeney from a free.

The physically stronger Southerners gradually began to impose their will on the game and when the St Patrick’s defence conceded a penalty Paddy O’Keeffe fired home a goal. County minor player John Hayes was causing problems for the Ballyragget defence, knocking over three good points to put Kilmacow into the lead.

Two pointed frees from Michael Brennan left the sides all square at the break (St Patrick’s 0-8, Kilmacow 1-5). However the Kilmacow lads would have been the happier side going in at the interval as St Patrick’s had missed several chances in that opening period, despite the assistance of the breeze.

Kilmacow upped their game considerably in the second half. Points from Michael Sweeney (3), Shane Gaule and Stephen O’Keeffe saw them move into a five-point lead by the end of the third quarter.

St Patrick’s didn’t let the hosts have it all their own way, and hit back with a goal from a Michael Brennan penalty to reduce the deficit to just two points with less than five minutes remaining. Brennan was then somewhat unlucky to see a goal-bound shot deflected over the bar. However, it was the home side that finished stronger with points from Paddy O’Keeffe and John Hayes to run out deserving winners.

In a highly competitive game Richie O’Neill, Conor Dowling, Robbie O’Keeffe and Luke Harney (after a tenuous start) were good in defence. Kilmacow won the midfield battle while in attack Paddy O’Keeffe, John Hayes and Shane Gaule, when switched to the wing, were best while Michael Sweeney accurate from frees.

For St Patrick’s John Mooney, Paddy Cahill and the excellent Kieran Delaney were very good in defence. Seoirse Kenny and Michael Brennan were best up front.

Kilmacow - Richie O’Neill, Conor Dowling, Thomas Reddy, Robbie O’Keeffe, Brian Fleming, Luke Harney, Shane Gaule (0-2), Sean Flynn, Richard Walsh, Martin Tynan, Paddy O’Keeffe (1-1, 1-0 pen), Stephen O’Keeffe (0-2), Michael Sweeney (0-6 frees), John Hayes (0-4), Shay Dempsey.

St Patrick’s - Michael Gannon, John Mooney, Geoff Morrissey, Paddy Cahill, James Morrissey, Kieran Delaney, James Gannon, Stephen Roberts, Bill Staunton, Brian Mulhall, Seoirse Kenny (0-3), Geoffrey Brennan, Sean Mooney, Brian (Tom) Phelan, Michael Brennan (1-8, 1-0 pen, 0-3 frees). Sub: John Holland for Sean Mooney, 31 mins.

Referee - M. Flynn (Mooncoin).