Enda takes top media award

A KILKENNY man won the top award in the annual McNamee Awards scheme promoted by the GAA.

A KILKENNY man won the top award in the annual McNamee Awards scheme promoted by the GAA.

Enda McEvoy from Michael Street in Kilkenny City took the national media award for his piece ‘From there to here’ which he wrote for the Sunday Tribune before last year’s All-Ireland hurling final.

The citation read: “Thankfully, while the Sunday Tribune has closed its doors, Enda McEvoy continues to have an outlet to write about hurling with authority and passion. He is the consummate story-teller, a gifted writer with an easy command of language and it shines through in this tale of how Kilkenny’s recent dominance of the championship owes much to the solid foundations laid down in the past by people like Paddy Grace and Fr Tommy Maher.”

Mr McEvoy was the hurling correspondent for the ’Tribune for over a decade. Currently he is a columnist with the Irish Examiner.

He has assembled a huge body of work. He penned ‘Fennessy’s Field’ which told the story of the history of hurling in St Kieran’s College and was was the ghost writer on former Kilkenny star, Charlie Carter’s autobioghraphy ‘Triumph and Troubles’.

At the moment he is working on a book on the life of Monsignor Tommy Maher, the former President of St Kieran’s College, who was generally regarded as the godfather of coaching in hurling.

Mr McEvoy was the main contribution to match day programmes for inter-county games in Kilkenny, and he contributes to the GAA Yearbook on an annual basis.

He is also a guest writer with the Kilkenny People for All-Ireland senior finals. He is son of Danny and Breda McEvoy and he is a former pupil of St Kieran’s College.

The McNamee Awards, the GAA National Communication and Media Awards, are named after the late Pádraig McNamee, former President of the GAA, chairman of the GAA Commission (1969-1971) and a member of the RTÉ authority.

They are presented annually in recognition of outstanding contributions made by individuals and ’Association units in the area of media and communications. The awards were presented by President Christy Cooney at a function in Croke Park recently.