Shore stars as Martin’s edge through

St Martin’s3-8

St Martin’s3-8


A CLOSE game all through ended with St Martin’s edging to victory over Galmoy/Windgap in this under-16 Roinn B hurling league clash in Galmoy on Thursday.

The sides were evenly matched but in Jason Shore at full-back, Martin’s had the most impressive player on view. Not once during this hour was he beaten in the air and, with his ciotóg style, his deliveries were very influential on the outcome. Eoin Murphy too did well for the winners, while Niall Walsh tried hard for the opposition.

Murphy and Walsh opened the scoring for their respective sides. Martin’s introduced substitute Tommy Downey early on and it was he who won a penalty in the 17th minute. Jason Shore made the long journey upfield worthwhile when he blasted to the net.

John Joe Kelly and Richard Teehan switched positions with telling effect for Martin’s and this move contributed to their second goal from Shane Gaule. Galmoy/Windgap finished the half with two goals. Tim Molloy struck the first and he provided the pass for the second for Cian Hynes to leave them ahead by 2-3 to 2-2 at the break

The home side began well after the rest with points from Peter Hennessy and Emmett Landy before Hennessy was rewarded for his persistence with a 44th minute goal. Martin’s grew in strength as the game progressed. They received a real boost when a long distance free from William Trousdell dropped into the Galmoy/Windgap net in the 47th minute.

From here to the end the visitors dominated. Points from Trousdell and a good left handed shot from Robert Reid got them through. Galmoy/Windgap had a chance to equalise but the free dropped short.

St Martin’s - Conor Dowling, Paddy Heffernan, Jason Shore (1-0, penalty), David Healy, David Walsh, Stephen Walsh, Robert Reid (0-1), John Joe Kelly, William Trousdell (1-3, 1-2frees), Aaron Healy, Richard Teehan, Eoin Murphy (0-1), Conor Fahy, Shane Dowling (1-2), Colm O Neill. Subs - Tommy Downey (0-1) for C. Fahy; Loughlin Hogan for A. Healy.

Galmoy/Windgap - Kevin Duggan, Sean Phelan, Kieran Phelan, Jack Delaney, David Doyle, Darragh O’Shea, Darren Grace, Emmett Landy (0-1), Niall Walsh (0-2), Brandan Phelan, Cian Hynes (1-0), Cameron Murphy, Josh Price, Peter Hennessy (1-4, 0-3frees), Tim Molloy (1-0).

Referee - Eugene Ryan (Fenians).