Bowden leads Lisdowney charge

Slick moving Kilkenny champions, Lisdowney made easy work of beating Shanahoe (Laois) in the Leinster club junior hurling championship.

Slick moving Kilkenny champions, Lisdowney made easy work of beating Shanahoe (Laois) in the Leinster club junior hurling championship.

This clash in Portlaois on Sunday never developed into a searching contest for the winners for the simple reason that they werre too good for game opposition.

Eddie Hickey got Lisdowney off to a sweet start, pointing after just 30 seconds following a stick struck pass from Peter Bergin. Fint Bowe got the first score for the Laois side when he pointed a free five minutes in.

Aaron Fogarty responded immediately for Lisdowney, the rangy No. 12 pointing with a sweet strike. Edward Kenny added Lisdowney’s third after showing a fine burst of pace. The next ball that came his way he did the same again, rounding his man and shooting over.

Lisdowney were already moving sweetly. Fouls on Eddie Hickey and Edward Kenny allowed deadly shooter Rory Hickey to fire over a brace. By this stage Edward Kenny was well set into his groove. He shot his third score just 12 minutes into the game.

Hurling comfortably

With an effort by defender Leigh Bergin added for the losers, Lisdowney found themselves 0-7 to 0-2 ahead and hurling comfortably. A Rory Hickey 65 pushed them further ahead on 15; a foul on Aaron Fogarty setting him up for his fourth score. A second free from Leigh Bergin kept Shanahoe somewhat close before a delicately placed cross field ball from Lar Carroll, arrowed to Edward Kenny, earned another nice point for the winners.

Paddy Bowden seemed to have wrapped up the game on 21 minutes when he burst through the Shanahoe cover to loft the ball over the ’keeper’s head and into the net. The game was quickly turning into a rout. Lisdowney were cruising after the goal.

Rory Hickey converted another free to shoot them 11 points ahead.

Bowden goal

When Eddie Hickey found himself in space on the left sideline, he had a quick glance followed by a neat strike and the ball floated into the hand of the rushing Paddy Bowden. The No. 15 blasted home his second goal. He added his first point a minute later.

Darragh Cripps got Shanahoe’s first score from play, but the Laois side looked dead in the water. Leigh Bergin added his third point from a free but his side were gasping for the half time whistle. Vinny Fitzpatrick set Lar Carroll up for a score and Aaron Fogarty added a point from a 20 metre free.

At the break Lisdowney led by 2-14 to 0-5. they were so far in front that they weren’t going to be caught. They had totally out-classed their opponents in that half. All that was left to decide was the size of the winning margin.

Aaron Fogarty pointed a free at the start of the new half before Leigh Bergin pointed with a lovely strike from wing back. Fint Bowe (S) pointed from a sideline cut but Rory Hickey replied from a free. The game ticked over, and though Shanahoe had improved a lot, they still looked no closer to clawing back the 12 point deficit that faced them with 20 minutes to go.

An Aaron Fogarty drive nearly brought a rich reward, but his shot skipped across the face of goal and wide. Paddy Bowden was denied his hat trick by a fine save from ’keeper, John Clooney.

Eddie Hickey shot over his second and Lisdowney were in total control once more after a lacklustre few minutes. Lar Carroll and Rory Hickey added scores with Leigh Bergin shooting one from a free in response.

Fogarty popped over a free before Paddy Bowden drove the stake through the Shanahoe heart when a cute ball from newly introduced Kevin Sweeney found the buzzing corner-forward, who finished his hat trick of goals calmly.

Fogarty pointed from distance to keep the momentum going. The game had ended as a contest long before. Lisdowney face Carlow Town in the next round.

Lisdowney - Niall Grogan, Niall O’Hara, Martin Phelan, Niall Mackey, Ray Fitzpatrick, Sean Phelan, Peter Bergin, Pat Carroll, Lar Carroll (0-2), Vinny Fitzpatrick, Eddie Hickey (0-2), Aaron Fogarty (0-7, 0-3 free), Edward Kenny (0-6), Rory Hickey (0-7, frees), Paddy Bowden (3-1). Subs - Padraig Kenny, Anthony O’Hara, Jimmy Delaney, Kevin Sweeney, Michael Kenny (0-1).

Shanahoe - John Clooney, Aidan Delaney, Brian Guilfoyle, Timmy Carroll, Leigh Bergin (0-9, 0-6 frees), Michael Moore, Jack Delaney, Liam Cuddy, Jimmy Kirwan, Darragh Cripps (0-1), Shane Cuddy, Karol O’Keeffe, Fint Bowe (0-3, 0-2 free), Thomas Lalor, Anthony Kirwan (0-1). Sub - Pauric Lalor.