Moon’ rise to Walsh Cup victory

A fast start helped Mooncoin secure the Joe Walsh Cup after seeing off the challenge of St Lachtain’s (Freshford) in Thomastown.

A fast start helped Mooncoin secure the Joe Walsh Cup after seeing off the challenge of St Lachtain’s (Freshford) in Thomastown.

St Lachtain’s had the use of the strong breeze in the opening half and after seven minutes won a penalty. Robbie Dowling tried for goal, but his effort was well saved.

The winners kicked on after that, Stephen Crowley opening their account with an 11th minute point. Two minutes later Liam Walsh was on hand to score their first goal, pouncing following a fine save by netminder Gavin Burke.

Full of running, Mooncoin quickly added their second goal through Kieran Dunphy, following up with points by Shane Walsh and Eric Wall.

Darren Brennan, who replaced the injured Burke in the Lachtain’s goal, was quickly into action. He made a good save from Liam Walsh, but Conor Brophy pointed the resulting 65 to leave his side 2-4 to 0-0 ahead after 18 minutes. Lachtain’s finally opened their account two minutes later through Shane McGree, Simon Rafter quickly added a pointed free.

Freshford were starting to come into the game, but couldn’t get the scores their efforts deserved. Mooncoin finished the half with four points, and while Lachtain’s pulled back two they trailed by 10 at the interval (2-8 to 0-4).

Three minutes into the new half the game as a contest was over as Shane Walsh shot Mooncoin’s third goal. Credit to the losers they never threw in the towel and tried to the end, with sub Jonathan Doheny getting through for their goal late on.

The Joe Walsh Cup was presented to Mooncoin captain Liam Walsh. Joe Walsh served on the Southern Board from 1951 until 1994, both as vice-chairman and secretary. He was also involved with the under-16 board as chairman and secretary from 1956 to 1969 and trustee of the Co Board from 1965 to 1980.

Mooncoin - Niall O’Hanlon, Jackie Ryan, Thomas Hennebry, Dick Mackey, Conor Brophy (0-4), Sean Wall, Niall Blanchfield, Stephen Crowley (0-1), Shane Walsh (0-1), Liam Walsh (2-2, 0-2 frees), Eamonn Hennebry (0-1), Sean Walsh (0-1), John Phelan, Eric Wall (0-1), Kieran Dunphy (1-1). Subs: Robbie Coady, Ian Walsh, A.J. Wall, Joe Kearns, John Fitzgerald.

St Lachtain’s - Gavin Burke, Dara Quinn, Paul Dowling,Michael Burke, Gerry O’Reilly, Michael Cormack, Nicholas Maher, David Burke, Simon Rafter (0-3, 0-2 frees), Shane McGree (0-1), Robbie Dowling (0-1), Michael Farrell, James Kavanagh (0-1), Keith Hughes (0-1), Ger Doheny, Subs. Jonathan Doheny (1-1), Donal O’Sullivan, Shea Burke, Joe Crosby, Andrew Martin.

Ref - Eoin Hayes.