Fermanagh made to work for win by spirit Kilkenny




SCORERS: Fermanagh - Ryan Jones (0-4, 0-2 frees); Terry O’Flanagan, Conor Quigley (0-4 each): Sean Quigley (0-3); Joe O’Brien (0-2, frees); Joe O’Flanagan (0-2); Martin O’Brien, Niall Casey, Chris O’Brien (0-1 each). Kilkenny - Bill Keogh (1-0); Graeme Lawlor, David Garvey, Michael Duggan (0-1 each).

FERMANAGH put their recent problems behind them to comprehensively beat luckless Kilkenny in this seventh round game of the Allianz National league played at a well-presented Jenkinstown on Saturday evening.

In a game played in cool but dry conditions the Northern side, who hit the headlines over in-camp problems during the week, had to up their game considerably after a lacklustre first half in which they struggled to shake off the challenge of a battling Kilkenny.

Fermanagh opened up a five point lead in the opening quarter, their scores coming from Chris O’Brien, Ryan Jones, Niall Cassidy and Conor Quigley (2). At the half-time however, their lead was just four points (0-8 to 1-1), a Bill Keogh goal on 27 minutes giving Kilkenny some hope - but for a couple of bad misses by the hosts’ forward division the Fermanagh lead would have been even smaller.

Same tempo

The third quarter was played at much the same tempo as the opening half. By the 45th minute Fermanagh had extended their lead to seven points 0-12 to 1-2 and were on their way to victory.

The Northerners completely dominated the final quarter and pointed at regular intervals while Kilkenny’s only score in that period came from Michael Duggan. In the end Fermanagh’s superior fitness and sharpness up front told as they ran out 16-point winners.

Kilkenny - J.J. O’Sullivan, Declan Grennan, Seoirse Kenny, Ciaran Foran, J.J. Grace, Sean Mahoney, Michael Malone, Bill Keogh, Michael Mahoney, David Prendergast, Paddy Raftice, Michael Saunders, Michael Duggan, David Garvey, Graham Lawlor. Subs: Stephen Duggan, James Mackey, Paul Donnelly, J.J. Dunphy

Fermanagh - Chris Breen, John Woods, Barry Owens, Michael Jones, Conor Quigley, Hugh Brady, Niall McGovern, Kevin Cosgrove, Martin O’Brien, Terry O’Flanagan, Niall Cassidy, Ryan Jones, Paul McCusker, Kevin Connolly, Chris O’Brien. Subs: Jack O’Flanagan, Joe O’Brien, Sean Quigley, Barry Mulrone, Paul McGrath.

Referee – Richard Moloney (Limerick).