Boran point enough to give ’Comer valuable win

Erin’s Own 0-12

Erin’s Own 0-12

Graigue-Ballycallan 0-11

Erin’s Own of Castlecomer ran out winners by the skin of their teeth after a Martin Boran point in the 61st minute saw them edge out Graigue-Ballycallan in the senior hurling leaguae in Ballyragget on Saturday.

This was a game that threatened to get out of hand at times, courtesy of some questionable decision making, but one which was full of hard hits and tight congested play. Martin Boran opened the scoring from a free after a minute, when a foul on Aidan Moran set him up. Jimmy Byrne added a point a minute later, when his supporting run from midfield was met with a lay-off pass by Michael Owens, allowing Byrne to fire over.

The lighting quick Dermot Wallace pointed for ’Comer after a great burst down the left wing, leaving his side three points ahead with just five minutes gone. Erin’s Own started the brighter of the two teams but Eddie Brennan won and converted a free to get his side up and running after six minutes.

Martin Boran struck over his second free a minute later before a great strike from Ballycallan midfielder, Adrian Bourke, landed his side’s first from play. Brennan pointed two more frees to level for the first time after 12 minutes.

Damien Fogarty pointed a long range free for the winners before wing-back, Ciaran Hoyne, scored with a great strike from the back line for Graigue. Peadar Boran then scored with a great strike from out on the sideline after an accurate cross field ball from Peter O’Donavan.

Fine shot and great save

A long Michael Hoyne free broke into the ’Comer square, and the sharp eyed Dara Walton snapped up the loose ball before firing over to level the scores again. A Peadar Boran run at goal ended with a fine shot and an excellent save from ’keeper, Tomas Ryan, who pushed the ball out for a 65. Damien Fogarty converted to push ’Comer into a slender one point lead at the break.

Pauric Keating and the Fogarty brothers had dominated the Ballycallan forwards, with only one score coming from their line, while James Ryall and Adrian Bourke were solid for the Graigue men. The first half exchanges had been high intensity, with both teams conceding a high foul count. There was very little space to manoeuvre, and scores had been hard to come by.

Ballycallan started the second half much sharper than they had the first. Two converted frees from Michael Hoyne and Eddie Brennan pushed them into the lead. Brennan then shot over his first from play with a quickly taken strike from the wing.

Martin Boran responded with a free for Erin’s Own before county man, Conor Fogarty, made a charging run towards the Graigue goal, resulting in a well taken point to level the scores. Peadar Boran fired over another spectacular effort before Eddie Brennan equalized, drawing the teams together for the fifth time.

Pushed ahead

Peadar Boran pushed ’Comer ahead with his excellent third point before receiving his marching orders. Substitute Kevin Cleere equalised for the sixth time after taking a pass from Eddie Brennan in space. ’Comer held their nerve, however, and a quick puck-out from ’keeper, Tom Brophy allowed Martin Boran to link up with Michael Murphy to fire over the winning point.

Erin’s Own, who have two wins, still have to play the current and previous champions, James Stephens and O’Loughlin Gaels, so safety isn’t yet assured, but they have a decent lead over Dicksboro and Graigue-Ballycallan in the standings.

Scorers: Erin’s Own - Martin Boran (0-4, 0-3 frees); Peadar Boran (0-3); Damien Fogarty (0-2, frees); Jimmy Byrne, Dermot Wallace, Conor Fogarty (0-1 each). Graigue Ballycallan - Eddie Brennan (0-6, four frees); Michael Hoyne (0-1, free); Adrian Bourke, Ciaran Hoyne, Dara Walton, Kevin Cleere (0-1 each).

Erin’s Own - Tom Brophy, Gerry Callinan, Conor Fogarty, Peter O’Donovan, Pauric Keating, Damien Fogarty, James Mullins, Jimmy Byrne, Aidan Moran, Dermot Wallace, Peadar Boran, Eoghan Mealey, Martin Boran, Michael Owens, Declan Dunne. Subs - Michael Murphy, Eddie Brennan, Mikey Dwyer.

Graigue-Ballycallan - Tomas Ryan, Dermot Ryall, Michael Hoyne, Shane Murphy, Robert Murphy, Michael Hoyne, Ciaran Hoyne, Adrian Bourke, Ger Teehan, Eddie Brennan, Niall Millea, Dara Walton, John Purcell, John Hoyne, Darragh Egan. Subs - Kevin Cleere, Dermot Heafey, Vincent Teehan.

Referee - Thomas Duggan (Mullinavat).