Final tally from Carlow-Kilkenny General Election

Final tally from Carlow-Kilkenny General Election

This is the final tally from the Carlow-Kilkenny constituency based on the observations of a cross-party team of all the main parties.

On the figures the five TDS who will be elected in Carlow-Kilkenny will be: John McGuinness, Bobby Aylward and Jennifer Murnane-O'Connor Fianna Fail; Kathleen Funchion Sinn Fein and John Paul Phelan of Fine Gael.

The gap to the sixth highest candidate, Pat Deering, Fine Gael is over 2,000 votes and is insurmountable even with strong tranfers from the remaining FG candidate, David Fitzgerald.

There is also bad news for outgoing labour Minister for Rural Affairs, Ann Phelan who is stuck on around 6 per cent.


Bobby Aylward (FF) 13.8%

Pat Deering (FG) 8.9%

David Fitzgerald (FG) 7.3%

Kathleen Funchion (SF) 12.4%

Keith Gilligan (Ind) 0.7%

Conor MacLiam (AAA) 1.7%

Paddy Manning (Ind) 1.6%

John McGuinness (FF) 15.1%

Pat McKee (Renua) 3.7%

Jennifer Murnane O'Connor (FF) 11.7%

Malcolm Noonan (Greens) 8%

Ann Phelan (Lab) 6%

John Paul Phelan (FG) 11.1%

Adrienne Wallace (PBP) 2.2%

Nowl G Walsh (Ind) 0.3%