Past pupils of Loreto and Colaiste Pobail grace WIT Honours List

Past pupils of Loreto and Colaiste Pobail grace WIT Honours List

A number of students from Kilkenny have made the Department of Health, Sport and Exercise Science Honours List for 2015/16 at Waterford Institute of Technology.

They were recently recognised for their achievements at a ceremony in the college. The students included BSc in Sports Coaching and Performance students Oisin Seager and Eoin Molloy, BA in Exercise and Health Studies student, Erin Kavanagh Dunne and BA in Health Promotion student, Breda Walton.

Dr Aoife Lane, Head of the Department of Health, Sport and Exercise Science said that the future was bright for the students, who can avail of the institute’s newly opened €20m WIT Arena where both practical and academic classes are run.

Altogether, 51 students made the Honours List across the Department’s 650-strong student body studying degrees in Exercise and Health Studies, Health Promotion, Sports Coaching and Performance and Recreation and Sports Management.

“I was delighted to make the list,” said Past pupil of Colaiste Pobail Osrai, Oisin Seager.

“I consider it a fantastic achievement and it's a great feeling to see that all my hard work and efforts from a very enjoyable first year paid off.”

Oisin is a FAI National C licence-qualified coach and is also manager of the Kilkenny U-12 girls Emerging Talent squad.

Oisin’s parents are Mari and Stephen, and he hsa one brother, Rioghan.

Former Loreto Secondary School pupil and Stoneyford native, Breda Walton was also delighted to make the list.

“It is fantastic to receive recognition for hard work, and this will motivate me for the years to come to keep striving for top grades,” she said.

Each student was congratulated by WIT President Prof Willie Donnelly and Dr Lane.

“These particular students are wonderful role models for our Department and reflect the culture of ambition and learning that we are trying to foster in all of our activities across teaching and learning, research and engagement. We all hope that this acknowledgement helps our award recipients and indeed our entire student cohort to strive for more in this and future academic years,” said Dr Lane.