Duiske College win big in south Leinster battle

Sam Matthews


Sam Matthews



In an era of defensive football and the blanket defense , free flowing football was the order of the day as Duiske College from Graignamanagh claimed the South Leinster Juvenile Football title in a sunny New Ross on Tuesday.

Selskar College from Wexford Town had come into this final as defending champions in the grade and were expected to retain their title. However aided by a strong breeze, the Graignamanagh men raced into a 3-3 to 0-1 lead, thanks mainly to direct football played into their effective two- man full forward line of Greg Hoban and Jack Dunne.

However Selskar rallied, and two goals just before half time from their speedy centre forward Corey Lalor left just five points between the teams on a scoreline of 3-3 to 2-1 to Duiske College at the break.

On the turn over the Wexford side started strongly as their midfield pairing of Josh Byrne Kavanagh and Cian Carty powered into the game and after ten minutes of play in the second half the Duiske College lead was reduced to just one point.

Aided by a strong breeze, it looked like Selskar were going to take control of the game but Pierce Blanchfield and Jack Dunne scored two good goals in reply. Again the Wexford team responded with some goals of their own and some well taken points and with five minutes left to play, it looked like a drawn game.

With their backs now on top and Taighe O’ Brien and Blanchfield now dominating at midfied , the Graignamanagh team finished strongest and scored 2-2 without reply to claim the spoils after what was 60 minutes of very entertaining football.

Duiske College team: 1. Sam O’ Brien 2. Sean O’ Neill 3. Eric Reddy 4. Robbie Conran 5. Liam Cahill 6. Cian Murphy 7. Stephen Foley 8. Taighe O’ Brien (capt) 9. Pierce Blanchfield 10. Shane Cleary 11. Ryan Kielty 12. Simon Connolly 13. Jack Dunne 14. Greg Hoban 15. Declan Moylan. 16. Oisin Kelly 17. Josh Savage 18. Nathan Savage 19. Adam O’ Brien 20. Sean Meagher.