05 Jul 2022

UPDATE: Heartbreak for FF's Bobby Aylward as he misses out on final seat in Carlow-Kilkenny

The South Kilkenny TD has lost his seat

Bobby Aylward Fianna Fail.

Bobby Aylward

It's heartbreak once again for South Kilkenny TD Bobby Aylward who has narrowly missed out on the fifth and final seat in Carlow-Kilkenny.

The Fianna Fail candidate was in with a shot until the final count this afternoon. Green Party candidate Malcolm Noonan has won the final seat here.

Aylward, who lost his seat in the 2011 General Election, won it back in the 2015 Carlow-Kilkenny By-Election. He held on to it in the 2016 General Election, polling 9,366 first preferences. This time, he took 7,550 first preferences, and transfers were not enough to catch Malcolm Noonan of the Green Party.

Carlow Kilkenny's Five TDs
Kathleen Funchion Sinn Féín, elected on Count 1

John McGuinness Fianna Fáíl, elected on Count 6

John Paul Phelan Fine Gael, elected on Count 8

Jennifer Murnane O'Connor, elected on Count 8

Malcolm Noonan, Green Party, elected on Count 10

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.