Kilkenny has a new junior minister

News just being announced as this afternoon's cabinet meeting finishes up


File Photo: Dáil Eireann

Kilkenny has a new Minister of State in the Dáil with details of the new posts being announced this afternoon.

The cabinet has just finished meeting and the names of 17 TDs who will occupy the junior minister positions are being confirmed.

Green Party TD Malcolm Noonan, who was elected to the Dáil in Carlow-Kilkenny for the first time in February, has been named Minister of State for Heritage and Electoral Reform. He is one of the longest serving members of the Green Party. He endorsed the idea of his party going into government early on, and publicly backed his leader at a time when internal disputes and disunity threatened to derail the coalition deal.

Heritage and electoral reform, his new brief, are both topics on which he has spoken at length in his time as a public representative.

The Green Party had say on three posts today, and Joe O’Brien (Dublin Fingal) and Ossian Smyth (Dún Laoghaire) were also announced as junior ministers.

Fine Gael's John Paul Phelan will not return as Minister of State. He served as Minister of State with responsibility for Local Government and Electoral Reform since 2017.

To continue reading this archived article for FREE,
please just kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.