17 Aug 2022

Development Squads in action

Kilkenny will have seven Development Squads in action this weekend, which is the busiest of the year and is called All-Ireland hurling Saturday.

Kilkenny will have seven Development Squads in action this weekend, which is the busiest of the year and is called All-Ireland hurling Saturday.

There will be teams involved in the Tony Forristal, Sonny Walsh, Michael Foley, Tipperary Supporters Club and Eugene Carey tournaments at venues around the country. The events and squads are:

Tony Forristal under-14 (St Saviours GAA grounds) 10.50am, Kilkenny v Limerick; 2.10pm Kilkenny v Wexford. Winners of group play semi-final at 3.50pm. Final in Walsh Park 6.45pm.

Panel - Declan Buggy (Erin’s Own), Dean Mason (Ballyhale Shamrocks), Eric Kearney (James Stephens), James Phelan (Lisdowney), Sean Brennan (Mooncoin), Mikey Butler (O’Loughlin’s), Eoghan Moylan (Dicksboro), Diarmuid Phelan (Danesfort), Declan Duggan (Piltown), James Brennan (Erin’s Own), Mark Kehoe (Slieverue), Dacel Fwamba (O’Loughlin’s), Alex Hatt (Rower Inistioge), Cathal Holland (Erin’s Own), Conor Heary (O’Loughlin’s), Justin Cahill (Dicksboro), Conor Drennan (Galmoy), Mark Nolan (Dicksboro), Killian Egan (Graigue Ballycallan), Colm Whelan (Thomastown), Gary O’Sullivan (Lisdowney), Ian Walsh (Dunnamaggin), Oran Brophy (Piltown), Liam Grant (Emeralds).

Bus leaving Springhill Hotel at 8.45am.

Sonny Walsh under-14 (Erin’s Own GAA grounds, Poleberry) 10.50am, Kilkenny v Cork; 12.20pm, Kilkenny v Wexford; 3.40pm, Kilkenny v Dublin. Winners in final in Walsh Park 5.40pm.

Panel - Jamie Malone (O’Loughlin’s), Josh Doheny (John Lockes), Evan Doyle (John Lockes), Conor McMahon (Erin’s Own), Liam Stynes (Dicksboro), Aaron Brennan (Graigue Ballycallan), Martin O’Neill (Mooncoin), Conor Murphy (Bennettsbridge), Robbie McCauley (Dunnamaggin), Fergus Byrne (James Stephens), Eoin Cody (Shamrocks), Michael Walsh (Gowran), Darragh Hartley (Glenmore), Darragh O’Keeffe (Dunnamaggin), Eoin Cahill (Conahy Shamrocks), Dylan Morrissey (Tullogher Rosbercon), James O’Dwyer (James Stephens), Paddy Doyle (Galmoy), Jason Phelan (St Patrick’s), Tom Sheridan (Kilmacow), Adam Fitzpatrick (Dunnamaggin), Frank Murphy (Tullogher Rosbercon), Stephen Donnelly (Thomastown), Liam Brennan Smith (Dicksboro).

Bus leaving Springhill Hotel at 8.45am.

Michael Foley under-15 (Pairc Carman, Wexford Town) Group A, 11am Kilkenny South v Wexford South; 12 noon Kilkenny South v Laois; 1pm Kilkenny South v Dublin North.

Group B - 11am Kilkenny North v Dublin South; 12 noon, Kilkenny North v Wexford North; 1pm Kilkenny North v Antrim.

2pm semi-finals, 1st Group A v 2nd Group B; 2nd Group A v 1st Group B; 3pm Shield final, losers of semi-finals; 4pm Cup final in Belfield, Enniscorthy, winners of semi-finals.

Kilkenny North - James Bergin (Clara), Tommy Ronan (Graigue Ballycallan), Luke Murphy (James Stephens), Sam Hickey (James Stephens), Conor Grace (Galmoy), Conor Flynn (Graigue Ballycallan), Niall Carroll (Fenians), Ronan Buckley (O’Loughlin Gaels), Jack Kelly (Barrow Rangers), Jordan Molloy (O’Loughlin Gaels), John Dowd (Erin’s Own), Ross Whelan (James Stephens), Sean Ryan (Graigue Ballycallan), Robert Butler (James Stephens), Oisin Phelan (Galmoy), Ciaran Brennan (St Martin’s), Jesse Roberts (Graigue Ballycallan), Sean Rafter (St Lachtain’s), Brian Cleere (Dicksboro), Niall Brennan (Lisdowney), Michael Doyle (Barrow Rangers), John Minogue (Dicksboro), Cian Dawson (St Lachtain’s), Ger Troy (Emeralds).

Bus leaving St Kieran’s College at 8.30am.

Kilkenny South - Thomas Dunne (Glenmore), Ryan Croke (Mooncoin), Ted Drea (Young Irelands), Patrick Hearne (Shamrocks), Richard Hennessy (Glenmore), Jack Cullen (Thomastown), Darragh Walsh (Piltown), Padraig Mullen (Danesfort), Adrian Mullen (Shamrocks), Martin Davis (Shamrocks), Rob Dunne (Young Irelands), Jim Ryan (Rower-Inistioge), Conor Murphy (John Lockes), Jack Byrne-Doyle (Mullinavat), James Aylward (Glenmore), Gavin Grant (Slieverue), Luke Fitzpatrick (Dunnamaggin), Oisin O’Dwyer (Kilmacow), Thomas O’Connor (Tullogher-Rosbercon), Brian Staunton (Thomastown), Rory Lodge (Dunnamaggin), Sam O’Dwyer (Bennettsbridge), Daithi Barron (Thomastown), David Costello (Kilmacow), Conor O’Keeffe (Danesfort).

Bus leaving Bennettsbridge 8am; Thomastown 8.10am; Ballyhale 8.20am; Mullinavat 8.30am.

Tipperary Supporters under-16 (Cappawhite)

Group 2 10.30am Kilkenny A v Cork; 12 noon, Kilkenny A v Laois; 1.30pm. Kilkenny A v Tipperary; 3.30pm semi-final Group 1, runners up v Group 2 winners (Cappawhite); 3.30pm Shield final, Group 2 runner-up v Group 3 runners-up; 5.15pm cup final in Dundrum.

Panel A - Ronan Ryan (Piltown), Brian Coady (St Martin’s), Jack Frisby (Slieverue), Evan Carroll (Dicksboro), Martin Keoghan (Tullaroan), Marc Drennan (Barrow Rangers), Shane Mahony (O’Loughlin Gaels), Chris Kavanagh, capt (Dicksboro), James Mullally (Danesfort), Tom Whitty (Danesfort), Joe Connolly (Clara), James Bergin (Conahy Shamrocks), Sean Bolger (O’Loughlin Gaels), Edward Moylan (Dicksboro), Edmund Delaney (Conahy Shamrocks), Sean Buggy (Erin’s Own), Donal Cass (Conahy Shamrocks), Paddy Nolan (St Fiacre’s), John Donnelly (Thomastown), Sean Power (Emeralds), Brian Kavanagh (Lisdowney), Victor Costelloe (Dunnamaggin), Jay Leahy (O’Loughlin Gaels), Cillian Power (Slieverue).

Bus leaving Springhill Hotel at 8am.

B games, venue Cashel 10.30am Kilkenny B v Antrim; 12 noon, Kilkenny B v Limerick; 3pm semi-final winners Group v Group 3 runners-up; 4.30pm final in Golden.

Panel B - Adam Power (Thomastown), Ben Alcock (Slieverue), Paddy Bolger (Clara), Cian Butler (Dicksboro), Paddy Brennan (St Patrick’s), Hugh Corkery (Bennettsbridge), Jake Cullen (Danesfort), Shane Dawson (St Lachtain’s), Jack Delahunty (Thomastown), Jack Delaney (Galmoy), Stephen Delaney (Lisdowney), Conor Dowling (St Martin’s), Niall Dowling (St Patrick’s), Terry Dreelin (St Fiacre’s), Oisin Gough (Dicksboro), Liam Dunphy (Lisdowney), Mark Kearns (Mooncoin), Matt Kenny (Clara), Jamie Norris (Piltown), Stefan Maher (Carrickshock), Alan Murphy (Kilmacow), Eamonn Phelan (Slieverue), Larry Vereker (Kilmacow), Jack Walsh (Rower Inistioge).

Bus leaving Springhill at 8.20am.

Eugene Carey under-17 (Mallow) - Group 2 12 noon Kilkenny v Clare; 1.30pm Kilkenny v Limerick; 2.45pm semi-finals, top teams from the three Groups and best runner-up; 2.45pm Plate final between runners-up in other two group; 4pm main final.

Panel - Shane Murphy (Glenmore), Shane Feehan (Erin’s Own), Shane Walsh (Piltown), Diarmuid O’Dwyer (Kilmacow), Aidan Nolan (Dicksboro), Michael Cody (Dunnamaggin), Conor Byrne (James Stephens), Dylan Jordan (Lisdowney), Niall Walsh (Windgap), John Quinn (St Lachtain’s), Tom Kenny (Dicksboro), Tadgh O’Dwyer (James Stephens), Sean Carey (Young Irelands), Jim Dollard (Dicksboro), Robbie Murphy (Dicksboro), Paddy Gannon (St Patrick’s), Jack Lawlor (O’Loughlin Gaels), Shane Byrne (Bennettsbridge), James Power (John Lockes), Sean Power (John Lockes), Johnny McEvoy (James Stephens), Bill Sheehan (Dicksboro), Shane Maher (O’Loughlin Gaels), John Walton (Tullaroan), Dylan Caulfield (Thomastown), Ronan Coffey (Dunnamaggin), Ryan Bergin (John Lockes), Jake Scanlon (James Stephens).

Bus leaving Springhill Hotel at 8.45am.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.