Search our Archive


Leinster glory for Kilkenny athletes

AN ARMY of Kilkenny athletes travelled in force for the opening round of the Leinster Cross-Country Championships, which were held in Mullingar on Sunday.

AN ARMY of Kilkenny athletes travelled in force for the opening round of the Leinster Cross-Country Championships, which were held in Mullingar on Sunday.

Juveniles competed in the even age category races (under-12 to under-18) while the seniors competed at Novice and Masters level.

Despite the stiff competition there were some fine performances, with a number of individual, club team and county team medals brought home.

Castlecomer’s Conor Clarke (third), closely followed by Gowran’s David O’Carroll (fourth) led the under-12 county boys’ team to silver medals. There were no medals in the girls’ under-12 category but Ruth Kennedy (Gowran) ran well to finish fourth.

Helen Haynes (ninth) led home the St Joseph’s team as they finished in the silver medal position. She also helped Kilkenny to finish second at county level in the girls’ under-14 race.

St Senan’s runner Hugh Morgan (second) had a great performance, leading his club and county to the bronze medals in the boys’ under-16. Gowran athlete Rebecca Kennedy finished second in the girls’ under-16 race, leading the county to gold medals. St Senan’s finished in club bronze medal position with Dearbhla Kearns (12th) their first athlete home.

In the girls’ under-18 race Kilkenny athletes gave a series of magnificent performances, filling the three positions. Bronagh Kearns (St Senan’s) was first, Mary Ellen Doyle (Gowran) second and Aine Kinsella (St Senan’s) third, securing county gold for Kilkenny and club silver for St Senan’s.

In the Men’s Novice race Toss Hayes (Kilkenny City Harriers - KCH) was third and Conor Rochford (St Senan’s) fourth. They were just two of a number of great performances by athletes in what is one of the most competitive races on the calendar. The Novice women’s team, led home by Ann Doyle, took bronze in the county section.

In the Masters races again there was individual success with Niamh Richardson (KCH) taking silver in the women’s over-45 race and second overall. Mick Hogan (Gowran) secured individual bronze in the Masters men’s over-60s category.

The full results for Kilkenny athletes from the Leinster Cross-Country Championships are:

Boys’ under-12: 3 Conor Clarke (Castlecomer), 4 David O’Carroll (Gowran), 11 Eoin Walsh (Thomastown), 15 Aaron Donnelly (St Senan’s), 24 Adam Fitzpatrick (KCH), 33 Lee Treacy (St Senan’s), 35 Johnny Collins (KCH), 41 Mark Nolan (KCH), 42 Darragh Maher (KCH), 43 Joseph Hanlon (Thomastown), 45 Oisin Griffin (St Joseph’s), 48 Colm Murphy (KCH), 49 Killian Mogan (Castlecomer), 60 Darragh McDonald (St Joseph’s), 61 Thomas Sheridan (St Senan’s), 66 Padraig Dempsey (St Senan’s), 73 Robin Davis (St Senan’s), 79 Shaun Burke (KCH), 88 Bill Dempsey (St Senan’s), 93 Ben Rochford (St Senan’s).

Teams: Kilkenny, county silver.

Girls’ under-12: 4 Ruth Kennedy (Gowran), 11 Eve Lacey (St Senan’s), 31 Rebecca Keane (KCH), 36 Ella Richardson (KCH), 46 Emma Hokey (St Joseph’s), 47 Nell Murphy (St Senan’s), 50 Laoise Murray (KCH), 67 Aoife Allen (St Senan’s), 80 Linda Lawlor (St Joseph’s), 82 Aine Phelan (St Senan’s), 86 Sinead O’Keeffe (Thomastown), 98 Grace Mullally (St Joseph’s), 101 Martyna Balcer (KCH).

Boys’ under-14: 17 Jonathan Crowley (St Senan’s), 21 Ben Sutton (St Joseph’s), 30 David O’Connor (St Joseph’s), 39 Richie Hennessy (St Joseph’s), 49 Thomas Bric (Gowran), 61 Conall Whelan (KCH), 62 Adam Ronan (Gowran), 64 Shane Power (St Joseph’s), 66 Ross Connolly (Castlecomer), 74 Paul Lysaght (Gowran).

Girls’ under-14: 9 Helen Haynes (St Joseph’s), 14 Ruby Harvey (Thomastown), 22 Annie O’Connor (KCH), 23 Aoife Carroll (Gowran), 26 Mia Griffin (St Joseph’s), 27 Alice O’Connor (St Joseph’s), 28 Chloe Richardson (St Joseph’s), 31 Ailis O’Shea (Thomastown), 32 Aoibhe O’Shea (KCH), 33 Ciara Lawlor (KCH), 37 Grace Richardson (KCH), 44 Anna Robinson (KCH), 49 Jennifer O’Keeffe (KCH), 52 Aoife Naddy (Gowran), 55 Ann-Marie Moloney (St Senan’s), 58 Hannah Irish (St Senan’s), 70 Caoimhe Kearns (St Senan’s), 84 Sarah Butler (St Senan’s), 86 Cliona Murphy (St Senan’s), 87 Sinead McEvoy (St Senan’s), 89 Aoife McDonald (St Joseph’s).

Teams: St Joseph’s, club silver. Kilkenny, county silver.

Boys’ under-16: 2 Hugh Morgan (St Senan’s), 8 Sean Power (Thomastown), 14 Conor O’Carroll (Gowran), 19 Peter Lynch (KCH), 24 James Power (Thomastown), 27 Sean O’Neill (Gowran), 29 Oliver Mullally (St Senan’s), 33 Eoghan Wallis (St Senan’s), 42 David Irish (St Senan’s), 47 Evan Foley (Gowran), 50 Patrick Maher (KCH), 56 Finn Connolly (Gowran), 57 Marcus Hogan (Gowran).

Teams: St Senan’s, club bronze; Gowran, fourth place. Kilkenny, county bronze.

Girls’ under-16: 2 Rebecca Kennedy (Gowran), 12 Dearbhla Kearns (St Senan’s), 14 Marguerite Hoynes (St Joseph’s), 15 Lauren Dermody (Castlecomer), 18 Aoibhe Richardson (KCH), 20 Sinead Whelan (Thomastown), 21 Rachel Butler (St Senan’s), 32 Michelle McDonald (St Senan’s), 33 Nicola Murphy (KCH), 36 Niamh O’Shea (Thomastown), 38 Tara Lacey (St Senan’s), 43 Bella Lysaght (Gowran).

Teams: St Senan’s, club bronze. Kilkenny, county gold.

Boys’ under-18: 27 Andrew Dowd (Castlecomer), 34 Seppi Lysaght (Gowran), 40 Leon Gordan (Gowran).

Girls’ under-18: 1 Bronagh Kearns (St Senan’s), 2 Mary Ellen Doyle (Gowran), 3 Aine Kinsella (St Senan’s), 17 Meave O’Connor (Thomastown), 20 Joanna Morrissey (Gowran), 21 Laura Walpole (Thomastown), 29 Orla Butler (St Senan’s), 30 Aoife Butler (St Senan’s).

Teams: St Senan’s, club silver. Kilkenny, county gold.

Novice Men: 3 Toss Hayes (KCH), 4 Conor Rochford (St Senan’s).

Novice Women: 38 Ann Doyle (Gowran), 40 Frances Mullally (St Joseph’s), 42 Ann Doyle (Gowran), 56 Ciara Farrell (Gowran), 59 Leona Connolly (Gowran).

Masters Men: 46 Michael Power (St Joseph’s, over-45), 52 Rocky Mernagh (St Joseph’s), 61 Sean Hokey (St Joseph’s), 71 Marty Kelly (Gowran), 74 Dennis Cormack (Gowran), 77 Tom McDonald (St Joseph’s), 81 Michael Hogan (Gowran, over-60 bronze medal).

Masters Women: 2 Niamh Richardson (KCH, over-45 silver).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.