03 Dec 2021

Youths invited 
to get Fit4Life

TEENAGERS who want to get fit in a fun way are invited to sign up for a new programme.

TEENAGERS who want to get fit in a fun way are invited to sign up for a new programme.

Following the success of a six-week programme held in Spring, the Kilkenny City Harriers (KCH) club will launch their new Fit4Life4Youth programme at the Water Shed this evening (Wednesday).

Aimed at young people between the ages of 13 and 19, the programme mirrors the Fit4Life club which was designed to give adults confidence and the skills to walk, jog and run and to learn to love doing it. The youth club, which was a big success on its six-week pilot run in April, will start an 11-week programme this week. Fit4Life4Youth will meet in the Water Shed on Wednesdays from 6 to 7pm and in the Castle Park on Saturdays from 11am to 12 noon.

Cost is E2 per session, with all participants asked to wear runners and comfortable clothes. There will be a special reward for all who complete the full programme.


The St Senan’s AC annual open cross-country event will be held at the Sports Complex in Kilmacow on Sunday. The start time is 1pm for the event, which marks the start of the cross-country season in Kilkenny.

The event is always well supported, with athletes travelling from many of the surrounding counties travelling to compete.

There will be a series of juvenile events for girls and boys from under-8 to under-18 levels. There are prizes for the first 10 individuals home in the under-8, 9 and 10 events, with prizes for the first three individuals and teams in the older age groups. The Fintan O’Sullivan Memorial Cup will be awarded to the best overall juvenile team.

At senior level there events for junior women (3,000m) and junior men (8,000m), senior men (7,000m) and senior women (3,000m). There will be senior cash prizes for the first three senior men and women home, top three men’s vets, juniors and first woman in the over-35 category, as well as team prizes for men and women.


The County Road Championships (10 miles for men and five miles for women) have been rescheduled and will now be incorporated into the Gowran AC Stook 10 mile race on November 18.

David McPherson (KCH) had a fine win in the Portarlington Kings and Queens 10k. He completed the course in 32 minutes 39 seconds, finishing with 30 seconds to spare over second-placed Dwayne Farrell (Tinryland). Tom Brennan (Gowran AC) finished 12th in 37.05.

Meanwhile in the SBR Ferns four mile race Toss Hayes (KCH) finished third in a time of 20 minutes flat.

In round two of the Tinryland Autumn League Jimmy Barcoe (Gowran) had a fine run to finish fifth in 17.21 mins. Other Gowran runners who featured were Colin Tobin, who was 16th in 19.27 mins, Leon Gordon was 25th in 20.46, Maurice Barcoe 29th in 21.04 and Angela Gordon 26.39.

Results from 

Athletes from St Joseph’s, St Senan’s, Gowran and Thomastown travelled to Adamstown, County Wexford on Sunday to compete in the Open cross-country. There were some great performances at juvenile and senior level.

Bronagh Kearns and Simon O’Dwyer were respective winners of the senior women and men’s races while Thomastown athlete Megan Morrissey was the winner of the junior women’s race and Luke Morgan took silver in the junior men’s section.

The juveniles also enjoyed great success. Aidan Lawlor, Sophie Mullally, Cillian Griffin and Eva Roche were gold medal winners for St Joseph’s in their respective races and for St Senan’s Saoirse Allen, Lee Treacy and Hugh Morgan took gold.

This was the first outing of the cross country season. The action will continue on Sunday in Kilmacow.


Girls’ tiny tots: 5 Riona Beirne (SJ).

Boys tiny tots: 1 Aidan Lawlor (SJ), 2 Aidan Kehoe (SJ), 3 Liam Dwyer (G), 4 Daragh Nolan (G), 5 Luke O Donnell (G).

Girls’ under-9: 1 Saoirse Allen (SS), 2 Aoife Redmond (SS), 3 Danielle Griffith (SJ), 13 Ciara Mullally (SJ), 14 Rose Sheridan (SS), 16 Caoimhe Kavanagh (SS), 17 Libby Murphy (SS), 19 Doirean Knox (SS), 20 Rose Prendergast (G).

Boys’ under-9: 2 Thomas Mullally (SJ), 13 Colie Walsh (G).

Boys under-15: Tadgh Connolly (SS), 17 Peter McDonald (SS).

Girls under-10: 1 Sophie Mullally (SJ), 3 Katie Bookle (SJ), 6 Eve O Dwyer  (G).

Boys’ under-10: 2 Cathal Beirne (SJ), 3 Brogan McAvaney, Gowran AC, 4 Liam Leacy (SS), 9 David Byrne, Gowran AC.
Girls’ under-11: 7 Chloe Mulally (SJ), 9 Orla O’Keeffee (TT), 11 Tara Ramasaway (SS), 15 Lise Prendergast (G), 17  Eve O Donnell (G).

Boys’ under-11: 1 Cillian Griffin (SJ), 8 Gavin Manning (G), 11 Cian Kavanagh (SS).

Girls’ under-12: 3 Aoife Allen (SS), 6 Sinead O’Keeffe (TT), 7 Nell Murphy (SS), 9 Aine Phelan (SS).

Boys’ under-12: 1 Lee Treacy (SS), 2 Oisin Griffin (SJ).

Girls’ under-13: 1 Eva Roche (SJ), 7 Amy Redmond (SS).
Boys’ under-13: 2 Thomas Sheridan (SS), 10 Jack Foley (G), 12 Marty Mahoney (SS).

Girls under-15: 6 Mia Griffin (SJ), 11 Chloe Richardson Riaz (SJ), 14 Anna Marie Mahoney (SS), 15 Shannon Treacy (SS), 16 Sarah Lawlor (SJ).
Boys’ under-15: 8 Jack Walsh (G), 16 James O’Neill (G).

Girls’ under-17: 3 Sinead Whelan (TT), 5 Tara Leacy (SS).

Boys’ under-17: 1 Hugh Morgan (SS), 4 Oliver Mullally (SS), 5 Conor Foskin (SS).

Junior women: 1 Megan Morrissey (TT), 3 Meabh O’Connor (TT), 4 Laura Wallpole (TT).
Junior men: 2 Luke Morgan (SS). 
Senior women: 1 Bronagh Kearns (SS), 2 Maria Griffin (SJ), 4 Siobhan O’Dwyer (G).

Senior men: 1 Simon O’Dwyer (G), 4 Larry Lacey (SJ ), 5 Rocky Mernagh (SJ), 6 Colin Tobin (G), 11 Stephen Rossiter (SJ), 12 Marty Kelly (G), 13 Denis Cormack (G).

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.