Search our Archive


Athletes get off to a great start in Adamstown

The cross-country season got underway at the weekend, with many athletes going on their travels to compete in events.

The cross-country season got underway at the weekend, with many athletes going on their travels to compete in events.

Adamstown AC held their annual open cross-country event, attracting more than 400 runners from all over the region. Athletes from Kilkenny, particularly from the South of the county, travelled in numbers and were well represented in the races.

The athletes also met with good success, with Kilkenny clubs providing five race winners along with four second place finishers and five third place finishes.

Bringing home gold medals were Fiona Dillon, Thomastown (under-11); Aine Kirwan, Thomastown (under-12); Helen Hoynes, St Joseph’s (under-16); Oliver Mullally, St Senan’s (junior men) and Sally Forristal, St Joseph’s (senior women).

The second place finishers included Saoirse Allen, St Senan’s (under-11), Killian Griffin, St Joseph’s (under-13); Ruth Kennedy, Gowran (under-15), Maria Griffin, St Joseph’s (senior women). There were third place finishes for David Williams, St Senan’s (under-10); Thomas Mullally, St Joseph’s (under-11), Emma Manogue, Thomastown (under-11), Josh Fenton, St Senan’s (under-12) and Oisin Griffin, St Joseph’s (under-14).

While weather conditions were ideal the course was challenging, providing an ideal start to the season for the athletes. The opening round of the Leinster championships will be held at the same venue later in the season.

Next stop on the cross-country circuit will be Kilmacow on September 28 for the St Senan’s open cross-country. The first two rounds of the county cross-country championships are scheduled for the first two Sundays in October. The focus switches to the road this weekend, with both Tullaroan and St Joseph’s club providing some interesting challenges for athletes.

Kilkenny results from the Adamstown AC cross-country are (club code: G = Gowran, SJ = St Joseph’s, SS = St Senan’s, TT = Thomastown):

Boys’ U-9 500m - 8 Niall Carpenter (G), 10 Steve Duhig (SJ), 12 Liam O’Dwyer (G), 14 Shane Morrissey (SS), 17 Mikey Phelan (SJ), 18 Daragh Vereker (SS), 20 Cian Scully (G), 21 Jamie Walsh (SS), 31 Matthew McAvinney (G), 32 Sean O’Hanlon (G).

Girls’ U-9 500m - 8 Mairead Mullally (SJ), 17 Breanna Bernie (SJ), 18 Grace Ramasawmy (SS), 23 Lily Doyle (SJ), 30 Anna Fenton (SS).

Boys’ U-10 1,000m - 3 David Williams (SS), 7 Darragh Carpenter (G), 14 Jimmy Maher (TT), 15 Callum Regan (SS), 23 Noah Scully (G), 29 Patrick Walsh (SS), 37 Aidan Lawlor (SJ). Girls’ U-10 1,000m - 6 Aine Pevcil (SJ), 12 Caoimhe Kavanagh (SS), 14 Libby Murphy (SS), 16 Sophie Monaghan (SS), 21 Bronagh Dolan (SJ), 24 Holly Hughes (SJ), 26 Rachel Foley (SJ), 31 Kaylan Doyle (SJ).

Boys’ U-11 1,000m - 3 Tomas Mullally (SJ), 6 Evan O’Toole (SJ), 9 Killian Dunne (G), 11 Tadgh Connolly (SS), 16 James Kiely (G), 19 Danny Dowling (SJ), 21 Luke Ramasawmy (SS). Girls’ U-11 1,000m - 1 Fiona Dillon (TT), 2 Saoirse Allen (SS), 3 Emma Minogue (TT), 5 Erin Foley (SJ), 10 Rachel Leahy (TT), 13 Danielle Griffin (TT), 14 Ava Shefflin (TT), 17 Aine Ryan (TT), 20 Emma Shortall (KCH), 23 Aoife Byrne (SJ), 29 Aoife Redmond (SS).

Boys’ U-12 1,500m - 3 Josh Fenton (SS), 4 James Foote (SS), 5 Cathal Beirne (SJ), 6 Brogan McAvinney (G), 8 Robert Finn (SS), 11 Mark Finn (SS), 15 Paddy Regan (G). Girls’ U-12 1,500m - 1 Aine Kirwan (TT), 6 Sophie Mullally (SJ), 7 Eadie Maher (TT), 10 Eve O’Dwyer (G), 17 Mai Phelan (SS), 19 Robyn Denieffe (G), 26 Niamh O’Connor (SJ), 27 Adela Beubry (G), 28 Aoibheann Beubry (G).

Boys’ U-13 1,500m - 2 Killian Griffin (SJ), 9 Ian Byrne (SJ), 12 Jack Ryan (SJ), 15 Cian Kavanagh (SS), 17 Alex Hughes (SJ), 21 Kevin Saunders (SJ). Girls’ U-13 1,500m - 4 Ellen Ryan (TT), 5 Tara Ramasawmy (SS), 8 Chloe Mullally (SJ), 10 Jennifer Leahy (TT).

Boys’ U-14 2,000m - 3 Oisin Griffin (SJ), 7 Reese Anderson (TT), 15 Thomas Mahony (G), 17 Zac Denieffe (G). Girls’ U-14 2,000m - 4 Aoife Allen (SS), 5 Nell Murphy (SS), 8 Grace Mullally (SJ), 9 Linda Lawlor (SJ).

Boys’ U-15 2,500m - 6 Eoin Walsh (TT). Girls’ U-15 2,500m - 2 Ruth Kennedy (G), 7 Molly O’Shea (SS), 9 Lorna Monaghan (SS).

Boys’ U-16 3,000m - 5 Richard Hennessy (SJ), 7 Aaron Redmond (SS), 9 James O’Neill (G). Girls’ U-16 3,000m - 1 Helen Hoynes (SJ), 8 Isabel Morgan (SS).

Junior Men’s 5,000m - 1 Oliver Mullally (SS). Senior Men’s 5,000m - 14 Sean Hokey (SJ), 15 Phillipe Beubry (G). Senior Women’s 3,000m - 1 Sally Forristal (SJ), 2 Maria Griffin (SJ), 8 Mag O’Connor (SJ).

Tullaroan Marathon

Tullaroan AC will host a marathon on Saturday. The event will be held on a two-loop course, offering runners beautiful scenery and rolling hills.

There will be the option for athletes of running a full marathon (€20 entry fee), as well as 30km (€15 entry fee) or half-marathon (€10 entry fee) courses, as well as a 10k event (€10 entry fee). Entry fees are payable on the day. Bookings for the event, which is AAI-approved, can be sent to

Refreshments and showers will be available after all events. The marathon will start at 9.30am, followed by the 30km event at 10am and the half-marathon at 10.15am, with the 10km race beginning at 10.30am.

Young Memorial

St Joseph’s AC will hold their annual Richie Young Memorial race on Sunday. Race venue is the Pink Rock, Rosbercon, with a 12 noon start. The winner will be the athlete with the most accurate prediction of their own race time. Watches or electronics will not be permitted. Following the race refreshments will be served in The Parish Pump, Rosbercon.

St Senan’s Open

St Senan’s will hold their annual open cross-country on Sunday, September 28. Venue is the Sports Complex in Kilmacow, with a 1pm start time. With races for athletes from under-8 to masters, the full details are available from

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.