Search our Archive


Collins and O’Connor in prize spotlight

CAPTAINS James J. Brett and Margaret Twomey held their prize competitions at the weekend - but only after battling the elements.

CAPTAINS James J. Brett and Margaret Twomey held their prize competitions at the weekend - but only after battling the elements.

After play on Friday afternoon was abandoned due to the incessant rain, and with conditions worsening as the evening progressed, there was little option but call a halt to proceedings and accommodate the players on Saturday.

Weather-wise Saturday proved to be much improved, with the temperature in the high ’teens. The day proved to be a triumph for both Michael Collins and Kathryn O’Connor as they topped their respective sections to claim the major prizes.

In the men’s section Michael Collins held off the competition with 38 points, beating former winner John Thompson by a shot. Although the winner failed to register a point on the par three third, the runner-up had two blanks on the back nine holes when he failed to score on both the 11th and 13th. These were but a few of many hard luck stories during the day and Michael proved to be a deserving winner at the finish. Michael had nines of 18 and 20 points respectively as against John’s 21 and 16 points.

The ladies section proved to be a one-woman show as Kathyrn O’Connor returned a massive 44 points to spreadeagle the remainder of the field of competitors. She had nines of 23 and 21 points respectively and was three shots clear of her nearest opponent, Wendy Beirne, who in turn was a further five shots clear of Amelia Drumm in third place.

A great evening of entertainment followed dinner in Kendall’s Restaurant, where the presentation of prizes was also held.

Results, Captain James J. Brett’s Prize: 1 Michael Collins (13), 38pts; 2 John Thompson (12), 37pts. Cat One: Alan Hearne (11), 35pts. Cat Two: Pat Doyle (14), 35pts. Cat Three: Bryan Higgins (24), 36pts. Past Captain: Padraic O’Connor (20), 31pts. Front nine: Terry O’Reilly (15), 19pts. Back nine: Jim Cusack (14), 19pts. Par threes: John Mulholland (19), 12pts. Par fives: John Conroy (18), 12pts.

Results, Lady Captain Margaret Twomey’s Prize: 1 Kathyrn O’Connor (30), 44pts; 2 Wendy Beirne (33), 41pts; 3 Amelia Drumm (20), 36pts. Past Captain: Brona Reidy (13), 34pts. Front Nine: Jo Duggan (20), 20pts. Back Nine: Ursula Mason (29), 21pts. Par Threes: Helen Hedigan (21), 10pts. Par fives: Anne Daly (33), 12pts. Visitor: Talma O’Sullivan (30), 33pts.

CHALLENGE - The Ladies Challenge Cup team were in action against Wexford at Waterford Castle. The overall result was a great win for Mount Juliet, who won by three matches to two.

Mary Cotter started the ball rolling with a convincing victory by a margin of 6&5 against her opponent. Brenda O’Sullivan kept the winning mood going when she won on the 16th green against her opponent. In between these two victories Ann Murphy lost her match, also on the 16th green and Joan Pierce was having a great battle with her opponent and was one down on the 17th tee. But Wendy Beirne, currently in form, closed out her match with a long putt on the 16th green for a winning margin of 3&2. Joan eventually lost on the 17th green but at that stage the important victory was secure.

The team now progress to the semi-final against Woodenbridge. It will be played at the neutral venue of Baltinglass GC on July 25. The team is managed by Helen Comerford. She is ably assisted by Dorothy Kilroy who, with Anne Daly, completes the full team panel.

GOLFER - As a result of the Captain’s Prizes, the competition for both Golfer of the Year trophies is beginning to take shape. Alan Hearne has taken a decisive ten-point lead over Kevin McCartan in the men’s section. In joint third place some three points adrift of Kevin is John Barrett.

The ladies division is led by Amelia Drumm, who has overtaken previous leader Sally Gleeson. On 46 points she is now five points clear of Sally with Liz Beatty in third place.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.