Search our Archive


Birdies lead to big winners over a hectic weekend

GOOD scoring was the order of the week as teams put in big finishes to win competitions at Kilkenny GC.

GOOD scoring was the order of the week as teams put in big finishes to win competitions at Kilkenny GC.

Sunday’s 14 hole four person team event was won by Michael Grant (7), John Meagher (10) and Ian Meagher (13) with 73 points.

The winners had a total of seven birdies on the card with Michael recording on the fifth and 14th, John on the sixth, seventh & 12th and Ian on the 16th. They had one seven-pointer and six six-pointers on the card. They also managed to keep a three-pointer off their card, the secret to compiling a score - particularly in a three person team event.

Second place went to club captain Seamus Rochford (12), Stephen Sheenan (9) and Colm Sheenan (12) on 70 points. Seamus had a strong finish to secure the runners-up slot, playing the last four holes in one under par.

The remaining two prizes were won with 69 points. Luke Wall (10), Cormac Hickey (6) and Tom Hickey (9) were third while fourth place went to Murt Farragher (16), Brian Keane (21) and Joe Ledwidge (22).

Saturday’s 14 hole crosscard competition was won by Jack Troy (14), Maurice Ryan (14) and Richie Phelan (16) who, with 69 points, had five points to spare over the second-placed team of Myles McCabe (21), Paddy Bollard (15) and Martin Hanrick (11).

Maurice did most of the damage as he had a birdie and ten pars over the 14 holes. Richie obviously had better luck than at the card game in the club on Friday night, where he and his partner John O’Gorman failed to win a game.

The ladies nine hole stableford competition was won by Niamh Kelly (11) with 21 points. The runner-up was Bridget Norwood (19) on 18 points. The gross was won by Mary Leahy Browne (3) with 15 gross points.

The senior men’s competition, held on Thursday, was played over 14 holes. Winners were Rodger Curran (12), Mick Crotty (15), Jimmy Rhatigan (17), Nicky Lawlor (23) with a great score of 74 points. Mick Crotty and Nicky Lawlor were very prominent on the card, with Mick recording a birdie and six pars and Nicky five pars.

The senior ladies competition on Thursday was won by the team of Hilda Richardson, Brid White, Aileen Hehir and Joan Daly with 36 points. The team scored 38 points, but had two points deducted due to the fourth person on their team. Second place, on 35 points, went to Adrienne Walsh, Edith Ogilvie and Etta Shine.

DRIVE IN - Captains Seamus Rochford and Pauline Cullinane will hold their drive in on Sunday, February 12. It will be a four person team event with a shotgun start at 12 noon.

SNOOKER - The draw for the first round of the club singles snooker competition is posted on the club noticeboard. It must be completed by Saturday, February 4.

RESULTS - Results, men’s 14 hole singles competition, January 22: 1 Michael Grant (7), John Meagher (10), Ian Meagher (13), 73pts; 2 Seamus Rochford (12), Stephen Sheenan (9), Colm Sheenan (12), 70pts; 3 Luke Wall (10), Cormac Hickey (6), Tom Hickey (9), 69pts; 4 Murt Farragher (16), Brian Keane (21), Joe Ledwidge (22), 69pts. Presentation of prizes is at 5pm on Saturday, February 11.

Two’s Club: Eddie Guilfoyle at sixth & 15th, Cormac Hickey at 15th & 17th, John Meagher, Willie Horgan at sixth, Richard Hayes at tenth, Richard Dore at 15th, Liam Fahy, John Lawlor, Luke Wall, Paul Colfer at 17th. Each two is worth E19.30 and is credited in the Pro Shop.

Results, men’s crosscard 14 hole four person team event, January 21: 1 Jack Troy (14), Maurice Ryan (14), Richie Phelan (16), 69pts; 2 Myles McCabe (21), Paddy Bollard (15), Martin Hanrick (11), 64pts; 3 Michael Egan (16), Frank Byrne (15), John O’Leary (16), 63pts; 4 Larry Gittens (12), John O’Leary (18), Jimmy Rhatigan (17), 61pts (B6); 5 Alan Snype (18), Liam Cody (13), Pat Hickey (12), 61pts.

Results, senior ladies eight hole three person team event, January 19: 1 Hilda Richardson, Brid White, Aileen Hehir, Joan Daly, 36pts (38 -2); 2 Adrienne Walsh, Edith Ogilvie, Etta Shine, 35pts; 3 Mary Prendergast, Mary Gorman, Breda Burke 33pts (L6); 4 Lila Byrne, Joan O’Sullivan, Grace Brett, 33pts.

Results, senior men’s 14 hole four person team event, January 19: 1 Rodger Curran (12), Mick Crotty (15), Jimmy Rhatigan (17), Nicky Lawlor (23), 74pts; 2 Fr Pat Duggan (18), Jim Treacy (21), Frank Dalton (21), Eddie Geraghty (22), 72pts; 3 Noel Skehan (12), Andy Hughes (16), Tim O’Mahony (31), Brendan Graham (22), 69pts; 4 Martin Murphy (15), Alan Snype (18), Myles McCabe (21), 66pts (61+5) (B7); 5 John O’Donovan (17), Michael Cody (20), Martin Cody (22), Joe O’Driscoll (26), 66pts (B7); 6 Pat Walshe (10), Richie McEvoy (15), Dave Schofield (27), Phil Lenehan (27), 66pts; 7 Martin Duggan (13), Richie Phelan (16), Terry Morris (20), Reay Brandon (22), 65pts.

Results, ladies nine hole stableford, January 17: 1 Niamh Kelly (11), 21pts; 2 Bridget Norwood (19), 18pts (B6); gross Mary Leahy Browne (3), 15 gross pts; 3 Adrienne Walsh (21), 18pts; 4 Bridie McGarry (8), 17pts (L3); 5 Joan O’Sullivan (29), 17pts (B6).

DIARY - Today (Wednesday): Visitors, 11.45am to 1pm. Members’ Time, 1 to 2pm. Tomorrow (Thursday): Senior ladies competition, 10 to 11am. Senior men’s competition, 11am to 1pm. Members’ Time, 1 to 2pm. Friday: Members’ Time, 1 to 2pm.

Saturday: Members’ Time, 8.30 to 10am. Men’s crosscard competition - shotgun start at 1pm. Sunday: Men’s 14 hole singles competition, 8.24am to 1.30pm. Ladies 13 hole competition (bookable online), 10.24 to 10.48am. Ladies 13 hole draw, 1.35 to 2.25pm.

Monday: Ladies Fairway Alliance, 10 to 11.30am. Members’ Time, 1 to 2pm. Tuesday: Ladies 13 hole competition, 9 to 10.20am, 12.20 to 2.20pm.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.