Search our Archive

Successful Sunday for St Senan’s

Aaron Donnelly (St Senan's leads the boys' under-15 cross-country race with Richard Hennesy (St Joseph's), Eoin Walsh (Thomastown) and Billy Delahunty (St Senan's) close behind.
Kilkenny had a strong showing at the weekend as a number of junior athletes travelled to Dunboyne for the national development cross-country championships.

Kilkenny had a strong showing at the weekend as a number of junior athletes travelled to Dunboyne for the national development cross-country championships.

St Senan’s had a large contingent present, with Thomastown, Castlecomer, St Joseph’s and Kilkenny City Harriers (KCH) also represented.

It proved to be a successful day for St Senan’s, who won individual and team medals.

In the boys’ under-11 race Josh Fenton finished eighth, earning an individual medal and leading his team to the bronze medals. There was another podium finish for Senan’s in the boys’ under-13 race, where Lee Treacy was ninth. In a competitive race, Kilkenny were sixth in the county section while St Senan’s were ninth in the club section.

There were three top 12 finishes for Kilkenny athletes in the under-15 race. Aaron Donnelly (St Senan’s) had a top class third place finish, with Eoin Walsh (Thomastown) fourth and Richard Hennessy (St Joseph’s) seventh. With Billy Delahunty (St Senan’s) finishing 13th, and good runs from Thomas Sheridan and Eoin Maher, there were team bronze medals for Senan’s and the Kilkenny county squad.

In the girls’ under-17 race Ailis O’Shea (Thomastown) finished fourth to secure her place on the podium. The boys’ under-17 squad put the icing on the cake with a great performance, scoring three podium finishes through James Power (Thomastown) in seventh place, Sean Buggy (Castlecomer) in eighth and Tommy Bric (Gowran) 12th.

There were good runs also from Jonathon Crowley, Patrick Maher and James Nugent, giving the county team an All-Ireland gold.

There was only one senior Kilkenny athlete in action in Dunboyne. Sean Caulfield was part of a field of close to 500 athletes who faced the starter in the masters cross-country championships.

Competing in the M45 category, Sean finished 48th in a competitive event.


Kilkenny results, national development cross-country championships (club code: CC = Castlecomer, KCH = Kilkenny City Harriers, SS = St Senan’s, TT = Thomastown):

Girls’ U-11: 29 Anna Cass (TT), 36 Edie Maher (TT), 50 Katie Taylor (TT), 64 Ava Shefflin (TT), 67 Orla Walsh (TT), 72 Rose Sheridan (SS). Club: 8 Thomastown. County: 8 Kilkenny. Boys’ U-11: 8 Josh Fenton (SS), 18 James Foot (SS), 23 Robert Finn (SS), 31 Thomas Mullally (SJ), 50 Mark Finn (SS), 70 Billy Power (TT). Club: 3 St Senan’s. County: 8 Kilkenny.

Girls’ U-13: 17 Aoife Allen (SS), 19 Nell Murphy (SS), 40 Jane Rochford (SS), 44 Shauna Finn (SS). Club: 5 St Senan’s. Boys’ U-13: 9 Lee Tracy (SS), 16 Christopher Korff (CC), 31 Killian Hogan (CC), 52 Cian Kavanagh (SS), 62 Fiachra Knox (SS), 76 Reece Anderson, 78 David Maher. Club: 9 St Senan’s. County: 6 Kilkenny.

Boys’ U-15: 3 Aaron Donnelly (SS), 4 Eoin Walsh (TT), 7 Richard Hennessy (SJ), 13 Billy Delahunty (SS), 33 Thomas Sheridan (SS), 37 Eoin Maher (SS). Club: 3 St Senan’s. County: 3 Kilkenny.

Girls’ U-17: 4 Ailis O’Shea (TT). Boys’ U-17: 7 James Power (TT), 8 Sean Buggy (CC), 12 Tommy Bric (G), 14 Jonathon Crowley (SS), 22 Patrick Maher (CC), 28 James Nugent (KCH). County: 1 Kilkenny.


Dick Hooper will be in Kilkenny tomorrow (Thursday) for a Q&A session at St Fiacre’s Parish Centre from 7.45pm. Current Dublin Marathon champion Sean O’Hehir and local athlete Brian Maher will also attend. Admission is €3.

Dick, a three-time Olympian, is the head of Athletics Ireland’s very successful marathon mission.


The following county teams have been selected for the national inter-county cross-country relays in Dundalk IT on Sunday.

Girls’ U-12: Ellen Ryan, Orla O’Keeffe (Thomastown); Mary C. O’Dwyer, Chloe Mullally (St Joseph’s). Boys’ U-12: Cathal Beirne (SJ), Fiachra Knox (St Senan’s), Jordan Knight (TT), Brogan McAvinney (Gowran).

Girls’ U-14: Katie Murphy, Lorna Monahan, Molly O’Shea (SS); Linda Lawlor (SJ). Boys’ U-14: Eoin Maher, Aaron Donnelly (SS), Eoin Walsh (TT), Richie Murphy (SJ).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.