08 Dec 2021

O’Grady runs to Novice victory

THE favourable weather in Thomastown made for a great day of cross-country running at the Novice and B championships on Sunday.

THE favourable weather in Thomastown made for a great day of cross-country running at the Novice and B championships on Sunday.

One of the highlights of the year, the Novice races provide many athletes with their first taste of racing at senior level.

Kilkenny City Harriers (KCH) athlete Ann Marie O’Grady was a runaway winner in the women’s Novice race with Ciara O’Farrell Gowran second and Laura Walpole Thomastown in third place. Gowran won gold in the team event.

In the men’s Novice race Gowran athlete Shaun McCormack was the winner. He was followed home by team-mate Sean Scott in the silver medal position. Luke Morgan (St Senan’s) got to the line after the Gowran athletes to take the bronze medal. Gowran took the team gold and the Novice Cup with Gerry Walsh (fourth) and Colin Tobin making up the scoring team.

Thomastown AC were easy winners of the team silver with St Senan’s taking team bronze. St Joseph’s stalwart Rocky Mernagh led his team to fourth place.

There was a great turnout of juvenile athletes for the County cross-country B championships, which were also held in Thomastown. All athletes who do not win medals at the county championships are eligible to run in the B championship races in their age group. A great day out was had by the athletes and many took advantage of their opportunity to shine in the absence of the elites.

A county juvenile elite squad session was also held in preparation for Sunday’s national cross-country championships in Sligo. The next elite squad session will be held in the Castle Park, Kilkenny at 11am on Sunday, December 4.

Results, County Novice and B cross-country championships:

Girls’ under-8: 1 Saoirse Allen, St Senan’s; 2 Rose Sheridan, St Senan’s; 3 Anna Connolly, Gowran; 4 Emma Minogue, KCH; 5 Caoimhe Carroll, KCH; 6 Aoife Redmond, St Senan’s; 7 Adicturcu Loughlin, St Kieran’s; 8 Rebecca Kelly, KCH; 9 Molly O’Dornan, Castlecomer; 10 Maria O’Keeffe, Thomastown; 11 Ella Buggy, Castlecomer; 12 Rebecca Peters, KCH; 13 Maeve Richardson, KCH; 14 Orla Kirwan, Thomastown; 15 Roisin

Harte, KCH; 16 Niamh Galway, Thomastown; 17 Ava O’Grady, KCH.

Boys’ under-8: 1 Daniel Naddy, Gowran; 2 David Manning, Gowran; 3 Niall Manning, Gowran; 4 David

Williams, St Senan’s; 5 Billy Garrett, St Kieran’s; 6 Paul Kirwan, Thomastown; 7 Matthew Holland, Gowran; 8 Mick Carroll, KCH; 9 Sean O’Keeffe, Thomastown; 10 Harry O’Grady, KCH; 11 Tadhg Connolly, St Senan’s; 12 Ferdia Shaw, KCH; 13 David Holden, Thomastown; 14 Rory Connellan, Thomastown; 15 Eoin Brown, Nore Valley;

16 Alex Cass, Thomastown; 17 Colm Treacy, Thomastown; 18 Oisin O’Reilly, Thomastown.

Girls’ under-10: 1 Aine Kirwan, Thomastown; 2 Katie Clarke, Castlecomer; 3 Roisin Dempsey, Thomastown. Teams: 1 Thomastown (Aine Kirwan, Roisin Dempsey, Anna Cass); 2 Thomastown (Roisin Moran, Katie Taylor, Dearbhla O’Reilly); 3 KCH (Niamh O’Shaughnessy, Jane Purcell, Aisling Treacy).

Boys’ under-10: 1 Sean O’Dornan, Castlecomer; 2 Gavin Manning, Gowran; 3 Conor Hanlon, Gowran. Teams: 1 Castlecomer (Sean O’Dornan, J.K. Malone, Will Fox); 2 Thomastown (Tom Holden, Peter Connellan, Liam Treacy); 3 Gowran (Gavin Manning, Conor Hanlon, David Holland).

Girls’ under-12: 1 Roisin Allen, Castlecomer; 2 Laoise Murray, KCH; 3 Caoimhe Kelly, Thomastown. Teams: 1 Thomastown (Caoimhe Kelly, Dearbhla O’Keeffe, Lizzy Buckley); 2 KCH (Laoise Murray, Abigail Bennett, Rachel Kelly); 3 Thomastown (Sinead O’Keeffe, Nicole Dunne, Kerri Whelan).

Boys’ under-12: 1 Lee Treacy, St Senan’s; 2 Darragh McDonald, St Joseph’s; 3 Oisin Aylward, Thomastown. Teams: 1 St Senan’s (Lee Treacy, Tom Sheridan, Robin Davis); 2 Castlecomer (Killian Hogan, James Buggy, Nicky Connolly); 3 Thomastown (Oisin Aylward, Rory Aylward, Jack Cahill).

Girls’ under-14: 1 Grace Richardson, KCH; 2 Aoife Naddy, Gowran; 3 Emer Lanigan, KCH. Teams: 1 KCH (Grace Richardson, Emer Lanigan, Maeve Shaw); 2 St Senan’s (Hannah Irish, Caoimhe Kearns, Anne Marie Moloney).

Boys’ under-14: 1 Tommy Bric, Gowran; 2 Richard Hennessy, St Joseph’s; 3 Mathus Pietrzykowski, St

Kieran’s. Teams: 1 Gowran (Tommy Bric, Aidan Ronan, Sean Grace); 2 St Kieran’s (Mathus Pietrzykowski, Ben Guilfoyle, Ned Lavelle).

Girls’ under-16: 1 Lauren Dermody, Castlecomer; 2 Aoibhe Richardson, KCH; 3 Nicola Murphy, KCH.

Boys’ under-16: 1 Kieran Ryan, KCH; 2 James Kelly, KCH; 3 Finn Connolly, Gowran.

Novice Women: 1 Ann Marie O’Grady, KCH; 2 Ciara O’Farrell, Gowran; 3 Laura Walpole, Thomastown. Team: 1 Gowran (Ciara O’Farrell, 4 Siobhan O’Dwyer, 5 Martina Prendergast, 6 Annette Fitzpatrick).

Novice Men: 1 Shaun McCormack, Gowran; 2 Sean Scott, Gowran; 3 Luke Morgan, St Senan’s; 4 Gerry Walsh, Gowran; 5 Philip Fennelly, Thomastown; 6 Pat O’Reilly, Thomastown; 7 Rocky Mernagh, St Joseph’s; 8 Colin Tobin, Gowran; 9 Jim Power, Thomastown; 10 Rodger Middleton, Gowran; 11 Liam O’Shea, Thomastown; 12 Danny Shanahan, Thomastown; 13 Niall Shanahan, Thomastown; 14 Sean Hokey, St Joseph’s; 15 Colm Sheridan, St Senan’s; 16 Mick Walsh, Gowran; 17 Michael Ryan, St Joseph’s; 18 Andy Dollard, St Senan’s; 19 John Finn, St Senan’s; 20 Tom McDonald, St Joseph’s; 21 Mick Hogan, Gowran. Teams: 1 Gowran, 2 Thomastown, 3 St Senan’s, 4 St Joseph’s.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.