Big crowd comes out to honour club captains

IT WAS an evening of celebration as Margaret O’Rourke and Michael Mahony held their joint Captains’ dinner in the Kilkenny GC clubhouse on Saturday.

IT WAS an evening of celebration as Margaret O’Rourke and Michael Mahony held their joint Captains’ dinner in the Kilkenny GC clubhouse on Saturday.

Over 130 members and guests turned out on the night to honour the captains. Both thanked their committees for all their help during their term while also paying tribute to the bar, course, office staff and Pro shop staff for all their assistance during the year. Michael Cantwell presented the two captains and the two presidents, Barbara Schofield and Joe Nolan, with albums of photographs which he had compiled during the year.

Both captains will hand over the reins to their successors at the Men’s and Ladies annual meetings in early December. Seamus Rochford will take over from Michael, while Pauline Cullinane will take over from Margaret.

WINNERS - Sunday’s three-person team event was won by Noel Power (8), Milo Condon (12) and Tommy Barry (16) with 72 points. All three players contributed to the card with Noel (who recorded two birdies and nine pars) and Milo (who had 11 pars) the most prominent.

The Senior men’s 13 hole competition was another three-person team event. Winners were Billy Burke (10), Jim Ryan (13) and Paddy Halley with 51 points.

The Senior ladies competition was won by Edith Ogilvie, Breda Kavanagh and Jane Duggan. They won on the back six from Phil Cooke, Elizabeth Tobin and Mary Shields.

See results section for full winners’ lists.

MEMORIAL - The annual memorial service for deceased members and former members will be held tomorrow (Thursday) at 8pm in the clubhouse.

MEETINGS - The Ladies annual meeting will be held on Wednesday, December 7 at 8pm. Notices of motion must be submitted to the Lady Secretary seven day prior to the meeting, with nominations for the Committee submitted ten days prior to the meeting. The list for committee nominations is placed on the Ladies noticeboard.

The annual meeting of the Men’s club will be held on Thursday, December 8 at 8pm. Again, notices of motion must be submitted to the Secretary seven days before the meeting, with nominations for committee returned ten days before the meeting.

LADIES - The Ladies will hold their Christmas party on Friday, December 2.

RESULTS - Results, 14 hole three-person team event, November 20: 1 Milo Condon (12), Noel Power (8), Tommy Barry (16), 72pts; 2 Henry Bourke (17), Richard Dore (17), Niall Griffin (17), 70pts; 3 Jim White (6), Neil Loy (12), Jim Kealy (14), 69pts (back seven); 4 Lee O’Sullivan (12), Noel O’Sullivan (15), Cathal O’Neill (17), 69pts. Prizes will be presented at 8pm on Friday, December 2.

Twos Club: Pat Walshe, Paddy Fitzpatrick at sixth; Des Byrne, Noel C. Power at 10th; Mark Brennan, Ian Meagher at 15th; Richie Phelan, Tom Hickey, Pascal Connolly, Billy Bolster at 17th; Noel Skehan at 18th. Each two is worth E20 and is credited to their accounts in the Pro shop.

Results, Senior men’s 13 hole three-person team event, November 17: 1 Billy Burke (10), Jim Ryan (13), Paddy Halley (25), 51pts; 2 Martin Duggan (13), Pat O’Shea (17), Peter McQuillan (22), 50pts; 3 Michael Doran (14), Pat O’Briain (15), Joe O’Driscoll (26), 48pts; 4 Mick Crotty (15), Paddy Byrne (21), Sean Breathnach (22), 45pts; 5 Pat Drennan (14), Martin Treacy (21), Tim O’Mahony (31), 44pts; 6 Eddie Guilfoyle (12), Con O’Sullivan (14), Eddie Geraghty (20), 40pts.

Results, Senior ladies nine hole competition, November 17: 1 Edith Ogilvie, Breda Kavanagh, Jane Duggan, 32pts (back six); 2 Phil Cooke, Elizabeth Tobin, Mary Shields, 32pts; 3 Eileen Reynolds, Aileen Hehir, Barbara Schofield, 31pts.

Results, Ladies nine hole stableford, November 13/15: Class A - 1 Mary Norton (12), 18pts; 2 Yvonne Dalton (13), 17pts (last six). Class B - 1 Annette Stapleton (21), 19pts; 2 Maureen McDonald (25), 16pts. Class C - 1 Niamh Duggan (33), 18pts (last six); 2 Frances Graham (30), 18pts.

JUNIOR/JUVENILE - As mentioned last week four girls - Sarah Browne, Amy Lennon, Sarah Molloy and Cliona Lynch - had been chosen for ILGU coaching. That has now increased as Sinead Ryan has also been chosen, bringing the number of Kilkenny girls getting national coaching up to five.

BAR - The bar closing hours have changed for the Winter, with earlier closing times on Monday, Tuesday, Thursday at 7pm, Saturday 9pm and Sunday 10pm. Closing times on Wednesday, Friday remain unchanged for the present. Times may vary on occasions due to functions.

DIARY - Today (Wednesday): Members’ Time, 1 to 2pm. Tomorrow (Thursday): Senior Ladies, 10 to 11am. Senior Men, 11am to 1pm. Members’ Time, 1 to 2pm. Friday: Brewery Outing, 10.45am to 12.15pm. Members’ Time, 1 to 2pm.

Saturday: Members’ Time, 8 to 9am. Men’s 14 hole Scotch foursomes hamper, 9am to 1pm. Members’ Time, 1 to 2pm. Sunday: Men’s 14 Hole Scotch foursomes, 8.18am to 1.30pm. Ladies nine hole competition (bookable online), 10.26 to 11am (bookable online), 1.38 to 2.20 (draw).

Monday: Members’ Time, 1 to 2pm. Tuesday: Ladies nine hole stableford, 9am to 12 noon, 12.20 to 2.20pm.

To continue reading this archived article for FREE,
please just kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.