Search our Archive


Joint Club names new officers

THE joint club of Kilkenny GC held their annual meeting recently.

THE joint club of Kilkenny GC held their annual meeting recently.

President Tom Gunning chaired the assembly, while treasurer Cathal Smyth gave a detailed account of the club finances for the last 12 months.

Officers and committee elected to run the Joint Club in 2013 were: chairman Luke Kelly, vice-chairwoman Sheila Brennan, secretary P.J. O’Reilly, treasurer Cathal Smyth, ex-officio Seamus Rochford and Pauline Cullinane, men’s vice-captain Denis Brophy, lady vice-captain and ladies nominee Catherine King.

There were 12 nominations for the general committee. After a ballot the following (listed in alphabetical order) were elected: Billy Burke, Joan Cashin, Joan Cody, Ollie Cullen, Michael Grant, Aidan McDonald, Robert O’Shea, Eddie Power, Tom Sloyan jnr.

Chairman Luke and vice-chairwoman Sheila will be busy in the coming week assembling their sub-committees and team managers.

CROSSCARD - Saturday’s men’s event was a crosscard fourball competition. More than 60 players participated, producing very good scoring.
Two scores of nine up and four scores of eight up featured in the prizes. The better of the nine ups was returned by Bernie Clarke (12) and Tadhg Donohue (16). Bernie continues to show good form but it was his partner Tadhg, playing off 16 handicap, that shone on Saturday. Tadhg had a birdie and six pars to account for seven of the nine wins on the card.

The runners-up, also on nine up, were P.J. Martin (9) and Stephen McCormack (20), with Stephen contributing six wins to the card. One score of eight up missed out on the prizes.

FROST - The three-person team competition, due to be played on Sunday, was cancelled due to frost.

LADIES - The ladies nine-hole competition was won by Paula Bradbury (16) with 23 points. The runner-up with the best of the 18 point tallies returned was Hilda Richardson (23) - Toni Hayes (20) and Catherine Leahy (22) also carded 18 point finishes.

The gross was won by Bridie McGarry (8) with 12 gross points.

The ladies yoga classes resume today (Wednesday) at 10.30am.

The ladies committee will hold their January meeting this evening (Wednesday) at 7.30pm.

SENIORS - The senior ladies had no competition last week, but held their annual meeting.

Elected for 2013 were manager Lila Byrne, vice-manager Joan O’Sullivan, secretary Jane Duggan and treasurer Breda Kavanagh.

The senior ladies will play holes 5 to 13 for the next couple of weeks.

The senior men’s competition on Thursday last was won by Eddie Guilfoyle (13), Jimmy Rhatigan (18), Martin Kelly (26) and Tim O’Mahony (31) on 64 points. Second place went to Paddy Raggett (16), Richie McEvoy (16), Joe Nolan (22), Tom McDonald (28) on 62pts.

The senior men will play tomorrow (Thursday) at 11am. Following golf, they will hold their annual meeting at 5pm.

MEMBERSHIP - An introductory first year membership offer is open to applicants on the club waiting list and other interested parties. Contact Sean or Aoife in the office, tel 056-7765400.

DRIVE-IN - The Captains’ Drive-In will held on Sunday, February 3. There will be a shotgun start at 12 noon.

SNOOKER - The draw for the snooker singles will be made this week and posted on the men’s noticeboard.

RESULTS - Results, 13-hole crosscard competition, January 12: 1 Bernie Clarke (12) & Tadhg Donohue (16), nine up (B3); 2 P J Martin (9) & Stephen McCormack (20), nine up; 3 Mick O’Flynn (14) & Paddy Lawlor (18), eight up (B6); 4 Luke Kelly (5) & Pat Hickey (12), eight up (B6); 5 Sean Boland (9) & Michael Egan snr (17), eight up (B1); 6 Mark Shortall (7) & Maurice Ryan (12), eight up.

Results, ladies nine-hole competition, January 6/8: 1 Paula Bradbury (16), 21pts; 2 Hilda Richardson (23), 18pts (L6); gross Bridie McGarry (8), 12 gross pts; 3 Toni Hayes (20), 18pts (L6); 4 Catherine Leahy (22), 18pts (L6); 5 Catherine O’Neill (23), 17pts (L3).

Results, senior men’s competition, January 10: 1 Eddie Guilfoyle (13), Jimmy Rhatigan (18), Martin Kelly (26), Tim O’Mahony (31), 64pts; 2 Paddy Raggett (16), Richie McEvoy (16), Joe Nolan (22), Tom McDonald (28), 62pts; 3 Noel O’Sullivan (16), Eddie Purcell (14), Myles McCabe (21), 62pts (57+5); 4 Rodger Curran (14), Kevin Donohue (18), Austin Kiely (23), Joe Leech (25), 61pts; 5 Dom Murphy (13), Eugene Orr (21), Tom Reade (24), Eddie Geraghty (22), 60pts; 6 Con O’Sullivan (15), Matt Ruth (14), Shem Lawlor (21), Peter McQuillan (24), 57pts; 7 Pat Foley (11), Jim Treacy (21), Michael O’Neill (23), Eamon Molloy (25), 56pts.

DIARY - Today (Wednesday): Members’ time, 1 to 2pm. Tomorrow (Thursday): Senior ladies competition, 10am. Senior men’s competition, 11am. Members’ time, 1 to 2pm. Friday: Members’ time, 1 to 2pm.

Saturday: Members’ time, 8.30 to 10am. Visitors, 10.40 to 11.30am. Men’s Saturday crosscard, 1pm. Sunday: Men’s 14-hole three-person team event, 8.30am to 2.25pm. Ladies nine-hole competition, 2.30 to 3.05pm (slot from 10.25 to 10.50am bookable online, draw from 2.25 to 3.05pm).

Monday: Members’ competition, 1 to 2pm. Tuesday: Ladies nine-hole competition, 9 to 10.20am, 12.20 to 2.20pm.

Wednesday, January 23: Members’ time, 1 to 2pm.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.