Crowds gripped by cross-country drama

DRAMA and excitement were in full flow at the County Juvenile Cross-Country Relay Championships, which were held in Bramblestown on Sunday.

DRAMA and excitement were in full flow at the County Juvenile Cross-Country Relay Championships, which were held in Bramblestown on Sunday.

The day began with races for boys and girls in the under-8 category, followed by the club relay races. A short circuit of 250m made this a great spectator event as the unfolding dramas in each race could be enjoyed by all. The honours were well spread across the clubs and the event was enjoyed by all those who participated.

An individual 1,500m cross-country race was held for the under-17 age group, with Gowran AC providing the winners. Cormac Buggy was first to cross the finish line in the boys’ race, with Christine O’Donnell winning the girls’ event.

The Country Intermediate Championships were also up for decision. The Kilkenny City Harriers (KCH) won both events as Irene Hennebry was first home in the women’s 3km race while Eamon O’Connor took the men’s 10km title.

Thomastown won the team gold in the women’s race and Gowran were comprehensive team winners in the Intermediate men’s race. The Thomastown team of Maeve O’Connor (2), Maria Walsh (4), Margaret Power (5) and Laura Walpole (6) finished with 17 points. KCH were second on 22 points, with Kate O’Connor (3), Sarah Gough (8) and Emer O’Connor (10) completing the team.

In the men’s race Gowran won the Intermediate Shield with ease. Jimmy Barcoe (2), Lyndon Barcoe (3), Colin Tobin (6) and Gary Farrell (7) finished with 18 points, well ahead of silver medallists St Joseph’s (33 points) who were led home by Patrick Bookle (4) and Rocky Mernagh (5). KCH, despite have the winning athlete in their ranks, had to settle for the team bronze medals with 39 points. The Gowran B team finished with 55 points.

Thanks went to host club Gowran AC and the O’Donnell family, on whose lands the competition was held.


Girls’ U-8 cross-country: 1 Maria O’Keeffe, Thomastown; 2 Bernadette O’Shea, KCH; 3 Niamh Galwey, Thomastown; 4 Tara Roche, KCH; 5 Caoimhe Power, Thomastown; 6 Nicole Murray, KCH.

Boys’ U-8 cross-country: 1 David Holden, Thomastown; 2 Killian Dunne, Gowran; 3 Ronan Grace, KCH; 4 Colm Treacy, Thomastown; 5 Leonard Farrell, Gowran; 6 Luke O’Donnell, Gowran; 7 Richard Nolan, KCH; 8 Jimmy Maher, Thomastown; 9 Cormac Burke, KCH.

Girls’ U-17 1,500m cross-country: 1 Christine O’Donnell, Gowran; 2 Niamh O’Shea, Thomastown; 3 Bella Lysaght, Gowran. Boys’ U-17 1,500m cross-country: 1 Cormac Buggy, Gowran; 2 Sean Power, Thomastown; 3 James Power, Thomastown; 4 Tommy Bric, Gowran.

Juvenile relay results - Girls’ U-10: 1 Gowran, 2 Thomastown, 3 Castlecomer. Boys’ U-10: 1 Gowran, 2 Thomastown, 3 Castlecomer.

Girls’ U-12: 1 Thomastown, 2 KCH, 3 Thomastown. Boys’ U-12: 1 KCH, 2 Thomastown, 3 Castlecomer.

Girls’ U-14: 1 KCH, 2 KCH, 3 Thomastown. Boys’ U-14: 1 Castlecomer, 2 Gowran, 3 Gowran.

Girls’ U-16: 1 KCH, 2 KCH. Boys’ U-16: 1 KCH, 2 KCH, 3 Thomastown.

Women’s intermediate 3km: 1 Irene Hennebry, KCH; 2 Maeve O’Connor, Thomastown; 3 Kate O’Connor, KCH; 4 Maria Walsh, Thomastown; 5 Margaret Power, Thomastown; 6 Laura Walpole, Thomastown; 7 Siobhan O’Dwyer, Gowran; 8 Sarah Gough, KCH; 9 Martina Prendergast, Gowran; 10 Eimear O’Connor, KCH; 11 Annette Fitzpatrick, Gowran.

Men’s intermediate 10km: 1 Eamon O’Connor, KCH; 2 Jimmy Barcoe, Gowran; 3 Lyndon Barcoe, Gowran; 4 Patrick Bookle, St Joseph’s 5 Rocky Mernagh, St Joseph’s; 6 Colin Tobin, Gowran; 7 Gary Farrell, Gowran; 8 Michael Power, St Joseph’s; 9 Pat Purcell, KCH; 10 Colm Murray, KCH; 11 Muiris Bric, Gowran; 12 Mick Walsh, Gowran; 13 Bill Carroll, Thomastown; 14 Marty Kelly, Gowran; 15 Terry Brophy, Thomastown; 16 Tom McDonald, St Joseph’s; 17 Michael O’Keeffe, Thomastown; 18 Denis Cormack, Gowran; 19 Willie McTiernan, KCH.

National Indoors

There were fine performances from a number of Kilkenny athletes at the National Indoor Championships, which were held in Belfast’s Odyssey Arena at the weekend.

Michael Bowler (KCH) won silver in the high jump with a leap of 1.90m. Thos Hayes (KCH) finished tenth in the 3,000m race, setting a new personal best time of 8.42. Sophie Parkinson (Gowran) was fourth in the shot (11.50m) and Emma Fenlon was sixth.

Fresh from breaking Sonia O’Sullivan’s 22-year indoor record at the intervarsities last week Ciara Everard, representing UCD, clinched gold in the senior 800m in a time of 2.07.


Athletes from St Senan’s were in action for their schools in the Munster Schools Cross-Country championships recently.

Bronagh Kearns (Abbey CC) finished second in the senior girls’ race, while Aine Kinsella was sixth.

In the intermediate girls’ race Rachel Butler finished 19th, scoring on the Ursuline Waterford team which finished with the bronze medals. Isabelle Morgan (23rd) was on the winning Ursuline Waterford team in the minor girls’ race.

In the minor boys’ race John Crowley finished sixth and won a bronze medal on the De La Salle team. Hugh Morgan was seventh in the boys’ intermediate race.

In the Leinster Schools Cross-Country there was success for St Kieran’s College (intermediate gold) and Loreto (intermediate bronze). KCH athletes James Maher (8) and Anna Sheehan (10) led their teams to the podium.

In the minor category St Kieran’s claimed the bronze medals in the boys’ race while the Loreto took silver in the girls event.


Saturday/Sunday: Leinster Juvenile Indoor Athletics Championships, Nenagh.

To continue reading this archived article for FREE,
please just kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.