30 Nov 2021

Two Kilkenny players in running for 2021 SSE Airtricity Women's National League Awards

Nominees revealed after an entertaining season


Karen Duggan is a Player of the Year nominee for the 2021 SSE Airtricity Women's National League Awards

Two Kilkenny players are in the running for honours in the 2021 SSE Airtricity Women's National League Awards, which will take place on Wednesday, December 1.

The awards will celebrate what has been a thoroughly entertaining campaign, which will finish this Sunday with the FAI Women's Cup Final. The main award categories, to be revealed at the ceremony, include Player of the Year, Young Player of the Year, and Manager of the Year.

Karen Duggan (Piltown) and Ellen Molloy (Inistioge) have been nominated in the Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year categories respectively, after both won awards last year.

Also, this year, there will be awards for Team of the Year (made up of the best 11 players), Golden Boot, Golden Gloves, as well as EA SPORTS Women's Under-19 & Under-17 Player of the Year.

Voting for the Awards took in the views of players, managers, scouts, members of the media and League administrators.

Here are the nominees for the main awards:

Savannah McCarthy (Galway WFC)
Karen Duggan (Peamount United)
Kylie Murphy (Wexford Youths)

Jessie Stapleton (Shelbourne)
Aoibheann Clancy (Wexford Youths)
Ellen Molloy (Wexford Youths)

Graham Kelly (DLR Waves)
James O'Callaghan (Peamount United)
Noel King (Shelbourne)

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.