08 Dec 2021

Warrington’s festive show was a cracker!

There were plenty of festive frolics and fun as participants enjoyed as the annual Warrington Equestrian Centre Christmas show.

There were plenty of festive frolics and fun as participants enjoyed as the annual Warrington Equestrian Centre Christmas show.

Following a series of games and starter events for newcomers, the competitions got off to a strong start with all of the riders in the first class delivering double clears.

The Starters seven class was the first to include a jump-off. The honours went to Darragh Burns (on board Ollie) from Lisdowney NS when they raced clear in 19.27 seconds. Burns was chased home by Orla Walsh (Georgie) from Thomastown NS and Conor Ryan (Dessie) from The Rower NS.

Conor Fitzpatrick (Ballinavella Polly) from Gowran NS led the victory lap in the Starters eight class, coming home clear in 16.49 seconds. It was a good day for Gowran as Robin Carey (Copper Light) was second ahead of Sarah O’Donnell (Monserrat Sea Mist).

The Primary School teams competition saw 14 teams in action, with 11 progressing to the jump-off. The Christchurch NS team of Jessie Widger, Vivien Leslie, Emma Walsh and Kate Foley were first on zero faults (54.96 secs) with the Poulacapple team of Ciara Fleming, Paddy Fleming, Roisin Foley and David Fleming second and the Gaeilscoil team of Sallyann Geoghegan, Kelly Fogarty, Evan O’Neill and Tara Fogarty third.

In the novelty competition there were prizes for Marie Lanigan and Conor Fitzpatrick, who dressed up as Mr and Mrs Claus and for Ashlee McGuinness and Sean Fitzpatrick, who dressed up as Santa and Rudolph. In the Friday morning group class, the joint winners were Deirdre O’Neill, Emma Cody, Ger Phelan and Charlie Millet-Johnson. Marie Lanigan and Conor Fitzpatrick were second while Ashlee McGuinness and Sean Fitzpatrick accounted for third place.

On Sunday Aisling O’Neill (Bisto) rode to victory in competition one when clear in 40.14 seconds. Laura Hoban and Maura McInerney shared first place in competition two, both finishing on zero faults.

Victory in the adult class one went to Aishling Doyle (Barney) who were clear in 44.71 seconds. Olivia Byrne (Georgie B) rode to victory in the adults two class when clear in 40.02 and took home the Kieran Hickey Memorial Trophy.

Caoilfhionn Ní hÁrgáin (Jake) took the honours in the 80cm class while Clodagh Burke (Paris Texas) won the 90cm class. Conor Fitzpatrick (Skip Along Malibu) secured victory in the 1m class.

It was a good outing for Jack Ryan (Lady), who won the 1.10m Grand Prix along with the inaugural Tommy Brennan Memorial trophy when clear in 27.33 seconds. Not content with the winner’s rosette, he also took second place with Costello’s Boy (31.18).

Nicola Ring celebrated her birthday with a great win in the 1.20m on Errigal Rock when clear 32.18 seconds. The combination were also third in the 1.10 Grand Prix. Jack Ruan was second in the 1.20 Grand Prix with Costello’s Boy. Third place went to Catherine Murphy and Top Priority.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.