Search our Archive


Trainor wins on last lap of Race

THE final lap of the Lexus Race to Mount Juliet saw Barrie Trainor clinch the title over 36 holes in Mount Juliet on Sunday.

THE final lap of the Lexus Race to Mount Juliet saw Barrie Trainor clinch the title over 36 holes in Mount Juliet on Sunday.

Barrie, a former Senior Cup player with his home club Warrenpoint, had rounds of 68 and 70 for a total of six under par to pip Brendan McGovern by four strokes. By winning the final he just pipped last year’s winner, David Higgins, for the Order of Merit title as well.

Barrie collected E4,000 for winning in Mount Juliet and a further E10,000 for the Order of Merit title. Kilkenny’s Jimmy Bolger finished joint third with David Higgins on Sunday for a good weekend.

PRO-AM - Friday’s Pro-Am was contested by 33 teams comprising of one professional and three amateur golfers. This event was won by a team led by Old Conna professional, Donal Gleeson, who beat the Jimmy Bolger-led team on a countback. Both teams having scored 95 points and were three shots clear of the team led by Greenore professional, Robert Giles.

WINTER - The opening round of the popular Winter Series was played last week. This proved to be benefit for some members of Thurles GC as they won the first two prizes. The winners had a great score of 99 points and had five shots to spare from their fellow club members.

LADIES - The last of the Ladies Invitation Days was held on Wednesday, the format being a three-person rumble. This proved to be a successful outing for the team led by Brona Reidy who had a convincing win with 71 points.

Brona’s partners were Edel Banim (11) from Woodbrook GC and Maeve O’Reilly (12) from Powerscourt GC.

RESULTS - Results, Winter Series four-person team event: 1 Pat Stakelum (18), Pat McEvoy (13), John Nevin (15), John McGrath (15, all Thurles GC), 99pts; 2 Jack O’Keeffe (15), Vincent O’Keeffe (17), Eamon O’Kennedy (12), David O’Kennedy (13, all Thurles GC), 94pts.

Results, Pro-Am, October 14: 1 Donal Gleeson (Old Conna), Hugh O’Connor (6), Helen Hedigan (20), Geraldine Forde (32), 95pts; 2 Jimmy Bolger (Kilkenny), Bill Connolly (16), P.J. Butler (15), Billy Fanning (14), 95pts; 3 Robert Giles (Greenore), Alan Hoyne (7), Mark Adamson (10), Gary Stewart (6), 92pts.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.