Cahill and Barcoe up for Player of the Year award

Sean Barcoe in action for Evergreen A. Photo: Mark Desmond
Paddy Cahill and Sean Barcoe might have the McCalmont Cup in their sights, but they are also chasing individual honours this season.

Paddy Cahill and Sean Barcoe might have the McCalmont Cup in their sights, but they are also chasing individual honours this season.

The pair, who will go up against each other when Freebooters A take on Evergreen A in Sunday’s McCalmont Cup final, are just two of the nominees announced for this year’s Premier Division Player of the Year award.

Cahill has been a driving force in the Freebooters midfield this term, while Barcoe has impressed when used in both central and attacking roles for Evergreen.

The duo will be among the front-runners for the award along with C.J. Browne, who helped Thomastown United A land their first league title in 34 years.

The winners will be presented with their awards at two Kilkenny & District League ceremonies next month. The schoolboys and schoolgirls awards night will be held in The Springhill Court Hotel on Thursday, June 25. The junior awards night is in the Set Theatre on Saturday, June 27.

Premier Division: Aidan Hynes (Bridge United), Tony Delaney (Callan United A), Sean Barcoe (Evergreen A), Ivor O’Brien (Evergreen B), Paddy Cahill (Freebooters A), Michael Freeman (Lions A), Eoin Purcell (Newpark A), Jonathan Ryan (Spa United), C.J. Browne (Thomastown United A).

Division One: Ciaran Stone (Brookville), Darragh Carroll (Clover United), Eddie Nugent (Fort Rangers), Eoghan Vaughan (Freshford Town), Darren Rowe (Newpark B), Eamon Foley (Stoneyford United), Brian Donnelly (Thomastown United B), Jason Cahill (Tullaroan).

Division Two: Zak Shermar (Bridge United B), Jamie Holohan (Deen Celtic), Peter Tierney (Evergreen C), Paddy Kiely (Freebooters B), Darren Maher (Lions B), Jamie Cahill (Ormonde Villa), Paddy Kennedy (River Rangers), Christy Connolly (St Mary’s).

Division Three: Mick Stapleton (Brookville B), Brian Doheny (Callan United B), Martin Doyle (Castlewarren Celtic), Vinny Cleere (Clover United B), David Burke (Freshford Town), Brendan Foley (Highview Athletic), Ben Callinan (St Ann’s), Marty Kavanagh (St John’s).

Youths’ League: Matthew Lowth (Callan United), Gaby Lapuste (Evergreen), Cian Loy (Freebooters), Karl Gleeson (Newpark), Kieran Banville (Ormonde Villa), ,

Women’s League: Jenny O’Keeffe (Freebooters), Denise Doyle (Newpark), Breda O’Neill (Tullaroan).

Under-17 League Division One: Christopher Aylward (Evergreen A), Sulayman Masood (Freebooters A), Sean Dundon (Lions), Keane Hayes (Spa United).

Under-17 League Division Two: David Delahunty (Evergreen B), Jake Cullen (Fort Rangers), Matthew Keane (Freebooters B), Padraig Buggy (Ormonde Villa).

Under-16 Girls’ League: Orla Casey (Evergreen), Ciara Delaney (Freebooters), Evelyn Phelan (Freshford Town), Alicia Minogue (Thomastown United).

Under-16 Division One: Sam Hickey (Evergreen A), Owen Wall (Freebooters A), Michael Byrne (Freebooters B), Liam Grant (Freshford Town), Ryan Poyntz (Ormonde Villa), Rory Monks (Thomastown United).

Under-16 League Division Two: Darragh Watters (Brookville), Daniel Fitzgerald (Callan United), Sean Grace (Castlewarren Celtic), Ciaran Farnan (Deen Celtic), Niall Doheny (Evergreen B).

Under-15 League Division One: Cian Moran (Evergreen A), Justin Cahill (Freebooters), David Bergin (Lions), Adham Masood (Southend United), Colm Whelan (Thomastown United).

Under-15 League Division Two: Mick Kelly (Brookville), David Moloney (Callan United), Dylan Doyle (Clover United), Darragh Doheny (Evergreen B).

Under-14 Girls’ League: Rebecca Roche (Evergreen), Aibhe Galwey (Freebooters), Lauren McCormack (Thomastown United).

Under-14 League Division One: Elvis Azah (Deen Celtic), Ciaran Brennan (East End United), Elijah Garrett (Evergreen A), Jim Ryan (Freebooters A), Jack Crosby (Freshford Town), Jamie Holden (Thomastown United A).

Under-14 League Division Two: Ciaran Kavanagh (Bridge United), Charlie Ryan (Evergreen United), Charlie Maher (Freebooters B), Jason Byrne (Highview Athletic), Conor Brett (Stoneyford United).

Under-14 League Division Three: Darragh Bergin (Callan United), Jack Murphy (Castlewarren Celtic), Cillian Maher (Clover United), James Fields (Evergreen City), Gordon Whelan (Thomastown United B).

Under-13 League Division One: Conor Power (East End United), Tristan Roche (Evergreen A), Patrick McDonald (Highview Athletic), Jim O’Connor (Lions), Mateuz Zych (Newpark), Padraig Lennon (Stoneyford United), Peter Connellan (Thomastown United A).

Under-13 League Division Two: Josh Barcoe (Bridge United), Ben Molloy (Callan United), Jamie Maher (Deen Celtic), John Ruane (Evergreen City), Cormac Kennedy (Evergreen United), Daragh Walsh (Fort Rangers), Michael Kennedy (Freebooters), Ben Tennyson (Thomastown United B).

Under-12 Girls’ League: Mia Van Groningen (East End United), Emily Kenny (Evergreen), Niamh Phelan (Freebooters), Abbey Wall (Newpark), Libby Begley (Thomastown United).

Under-12 League Division One: Joe Dundon (Bridge United), Noah Quinlan (Clover United), Mark Gunner (Deen Celtic), Timmy Clifford (Evergreen A), Alex Molloy (Freebooters A), Darragh Kelly (Lions), Zachary Bay-Hammond (Thomastown United).

Under-12 League Division Two: Luke Fenlon (Bridge United), Luka Downey (Deen Celtic B), Brooklyn Sinnott (Freebooters C), Kyle Healy (Newpark), Michael Cullen (Southend United).

Under-12 League Division Three: Stephen Bergin (Callan United), Bobby Behan (Evergreen City), John Canny (Fort Rangers), Colm Noonan (Freebooters B), Killian Dunne (Freshford Town), Sam Byrne (Highview Athletic).

Under-11 League Division One: Dylan Hunston (Bridge United), Shane Bracken (Clover United), Eoghan Moore (Deen Celtic A), Cillian Harding Kelly (East End United), Michael Raggett (Evergreen Athletic), Cillian Hackett (Freebooters), Darragh Cuddihy (Thomastown United).

Under-11 League Division Two: Edward Fenlon (Bridge United), Justin Okonkwo (Evergreen City), Matthew Cowley (Fort Rangers), Clinton John (Freebooters), Alan Dunphy (Freshford Town), Oisin Conroy (Lions), Mickey Thomas (Stoneyford United).

Under-11 League Division Three: Jamie Cashin (Callan United), Joey Rowe (Deen Celtic B), Conor Power (East End United), Finn Hogan (Evergreen United), Paul Óg Mulligan (Freebooters), Corey Doyle (Highview Athletic), Kyle Malone (Thomastown United).

To continue reading this article, please register and log in.

Registration is free and you can also sign up to our newsletter to keep up to date with your latest local news!


Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.