27 Nov 2021

League names under-11 and under-12 squads

WITH a new campaign just around the corner, the first Kilkenny & District League under-age panels have been named.

WITH a new campaign just around the corner, the first Kilkenny & District League under-age panels have been named.

More than 80 players attended trial games for the Kilkenny under-12 side on Sunday, with the management team of Ronnie Grace and Peter Murtagh overwhelmed by the level of talent on show.

“The quality of players we saw was second to none,” said Grace. “It was extremely difficult to reduce the numbers down to a 26-strong squad. Twelve clubs are represented on the panel, which shows there is a great spread of players in the side.”

Despite that, there is still a chance for other players to force their way into the reckoning.

“This will be a rolling squad,” he said. “The panel will be open all season. The standard at this age group is so high that we will be watching games all year, giving players plenty of chances for players to get into the side.

The squad will train tomorrow (Thursday) from 5.30 to 7pm in Derdimus. Players are asked to be in attendance by 5.15pm and to bring boots and Astro-Turf runners.

Under-12 squad - Dean Mason (Southend United), Dylan Thomas (Freebooters), Peter Keyes (Clover United), Eoin Walsh (Southend United), Eoin Cody (Southend United), Cathal Holland (Deen Celtic), Sean Holden (Highview Athletic), Cathal Jordan (Lions), Darren Bowe (Clover United), Justin Cahill (Ormonde Villa), Matthew Russell (Evergreen), Robbie Dowling (Evergreen), Adam Fitzpatrick (Fort Rangers), Darragh Corcoran (Southend United), Dylan Doyle (Clover United), Colin Whelan (Thomastown United), Sean Comerford (Freebooters), Niall Canning (Bridge United), Evan West (Freebooters), Sean Manogue (Evergreen), Jack Barcoe (Thomastown United), Barry Lennon (Stoneyford United), Joseph Conlon (Thomastown United), Owen Dowling (Freebooters), Gavin Blanchfield (Evergreen), Fergus Byrne (Evergreen).

Meanwhile the Kilkenny & District League’s under-11 squad has also been announced. Manager Mick Hoban, who will be assisted by Kevin O’Neill, has named the following panel of players for training:

Under-11 squad - Jamie Harkin (East End United), Billy O’Neill (Deen Celtic), Owen Hogan (Paulstown 06), Joseph Conlon (Thomastown United), Tim Corkery (East End United), Kieran Brennan (East End United), Jack Holden (Thomastown United), Conor Clark (Deen Celtic), Conor Kelly (Freebooters), Cian Kenny (Freebooters), Darragh Quinn (Lions), Ian Wallace (Stoneyford United), George Murphy (Freebooters), Christopher Coady (Southend United), Sean McKee (Freebooters), Eoin Guilfoyle (Freebooters), Success Edogun (Freebooters), P.J. Fennelly (Stoneyford United), Elijah Garreth (Freshford Town), Jim Ryan (Freebooters), James Kearney (Evergreen), Kevin Fitzpatrick (Evergreen), James Feeley (Evergreen), D. Coffey (Evergreen).

The squad will meet on Sunday at 10.20am in Derdimus for training on the Astro-Turf pitch. Parents/guardian are asked to attend with child.

Players unavailable to attend should contact Mick, tel 086-2276602 or Kevin, tel 085-7143895.

To continue reading this archived article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.