Flying O’Flynn keeps ’Boro afloat



Erin’s Own.................................1-7

On a frosty Sunday afternoon in Canon Kearns Park, Erin’s Own of Castlecomer were frozen out and ended up being demoted to the intermediate football ranks when a strong Dicksboro side ran out six point winners of this senior relegation final.

Fine performances from Gordon Byrne and Peter O’Donovan for the losers couldn’t counter the excellent display by Dicksboro’s Paul O’Flynn, who walked off the field with 2-5 to his credit, which went a massive way towards saving his team.

Byrne opened the scoring for the home side as ’Comer raced out of the blocks to draw first blood. Shane Maher and O’Flynn responded with two well taken points before Anthony Kavanagh struck a superb shot that took the ball into the bottom corner of the ’Boro net.

Paul O’Flynn was dominating already, and two more scores from his deadly left boot drew the sides level. Maher added a free to put the ’Boro ahead. Gordon Byrne shot over a brace, but Erin’s Own were already starting to struggle.

With no one able to handle O’Flynn, he was left to literally run the game. Dicksboro’s first penalty came in the 25th minute. Maher’s shot was saved by the ’keeper, Donal Fenlon before Cillian Breathnach pointed the rebound.

The ’Boro were awarded another penalty just two minutes later. This time O’Flynn buried his shot in the net to put the ’Boro three ahead. A fisted point by Byrne left ’Comer trailing by two points at half time.

Paul O Flynn and Pauric Keating traded scores after the restart before two frees from Eddie Brennan levelled the game. The city side kicked on, however. They picked off three unanswered points before a goal by Paul O’Flynn sealed the win and secured their status as a senior club.

Scorers: Dicksboro - Paul O’Flynn (2-5, goal penalty); Shane Maher (0-3, one free);Conor O’Loughlin, Cillian Breathnach (0-1 each). Erin’s Own - Gordon Byrne (0-5); Anthony Kavanagh (1-0); Eddie Brennan (0-2, frees).

Dicksboro - D.D. Molloy, Ruairi Morrissey, Ciaran Gough, J.J. Hogan, Eoin McCormack, Kevin Nolan, Marco Reussman, Paul O’Flynn, Conor O’Loughlin, Enda Malone, Tom Manning, Padraig McCabe, Podge Lacey, Shane Maher, Cillian Breathnach. Sub - Sammy Morrissey.

Erin’s Own - Donal Fenlon, Danny Byrne, Liam Shore, Stephen Dwyer, Noel Callinan, Peter O’Donovan, Pauric Keating, Michael Owens, James Mullins, Peadar Boran, Eddie Brennan, Dermot Wallace, Anthony Kavanagh, Jack Dunne, Gordon Byrne. Subs - Brian Dillon, Jim Buggy, Ciaran Brennan, Alan Treacy.

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.