Mulcahy nets Player of the Year award

SEVERAL league winners had more reason to celebrate after picking up Player of the Year awards.

SEVERAL league winners had more reason to celebrate after picking up Player of the Year awards.

The Kilkenny & District League announced the junior and youths winners of the end of season individual honours, with few surprises in the destination of the top prizes.

Leading the way was Joe Mulcahy, who ended a sensational goal-scoring season with the Premier Division’s Player of the Year prize. Shifted into a full attacking role this season, the Evergreen A hitman has been a revelation. Mulcahy ended his campaign with a staggering 50 goals to his name, strikes which propelled his club to the Premier Division and Maher Shield titles last season.

The Division One honours also went to a league winner, as Thomastown United A midfielder Eamon Lyster claimed the spoils. Lyster rejoined his local club at the start of the season and played a huge part in their successful bid to get back into the Premier Division. He played a starring role in the centre, helping the Thomastown United A team reel in long-time leaders Clover United A and finish their campaign with the Division One title and promotion, as well as a semi-final berth in the McCalmont Cup.

Urlingford’s Daniel Looby was crowned Division Two’s best player, while Newpark United B’s Eddie Wall scooped the prize for Division Three. Both players will be competing at a higher level next season, having secured promotion with their respective clubs.

The women’s award went to Bridge United’s Philomena Murphy in Division One, while newcomers Orchard Rovers saw their player Annie Dunne earn the Division Two prize. In the youths’ section talented Freebooters attacker Conor Keane landed the top player prize. It was a season to remember for Keane, as he and his ’Booters colleagues won the Youths’ treble. Top referee of the year was Ollie Falsey.

The winners will be presented with their prizes at the junior awards night, which will be held in Rafter Dempsey’s on Friday, June 1.

Players of the Year - Premier Division: Joe Mulcahy (Evergreen A). Division One: Eamon Lyster (Thomastown United A). Division Two: Daniel Looby (Urlingford). Division Three: Eddie Wall (Newpark United B).Women’s Division One: Philomena Murphy (Bridge United). Women’s Division Two: Annie Dunne (Orchard Rovers). Youths’ League: Conor Keane (Freebooters).

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.