17 Aug 2022

Triumphant ’Town take title

Somebody up there likes me! Thomastown goalkeeper Darragh McGarry looks to the heavens at the final whistle of Sunday's All Irleland Junior Hurling Championship final win over Fullen Gaels of Manchester at Croke Park. Pic by John McIlwaine
Thomastown scaled the heights to become All-Ireland champions, but gave themselves some extra challenges before making it to the top.

Thomastown scaled the heights to become All-Ireland champions, but gave themselves some extra challenges before making it to the top.

The men from Grennan had to overcome several tough hurdles posed by Fullen Gaels before they could savour a 2-17 to 2-14 success at Croke Park.

The Leinster champions had tried to make a strong start in the opening stages, but were shackled by some determined play from Fullen Gaels.

The sides were level going into the second quarter, but a Darren Burke goal helped Thomastown go in 1-10 to 1-8 up at the break.

Regained composure

A second Gaels goal early in the second half was a shock, but Thomastown regained their composure and grip on the game.

Helped by Thomas O’Hanrahan’s goal they dominated the third quarter, adding points from Donnelly, Dessie Walsh and Burke to move 2-15 to 2-8 clear.

With little over a quarter of the game left to play Thomastown seemed odds-on to become the fifth Kilkenny team to land the junior title but Fullen Gaels stormed back.

There were just two points in it with time almost up, but a Michael Donnelly free settled Thomastown’s nerves and secured national glory.

SCORERS: Thomastown - Michael Donnelly (0-8, 0-5 frees, 0-2 65); Darren Burke, Thomas O’Hanrahan (1-2 each); Stuart Waugh (0-2); Dessie Walsh, Jonjo Farrell, Dylan Waugh (0-1 each). Fullen Gaels - Robbie Power (1-9, 0-8 frees); Alan O’Neill (1-0); Shane Lawless (0-2); Raemonn McEntee, Brendan Moloney, Alan Morrissey (0-1 each).

Thomastown - D. McGarry, S. Mahony, S. Lanigan, B. Murphy, B. Whelan, P. O’Hanrahan, R. O’Hara, D. Walsh, D. Lanigan, S. Waugh, M. Donnelly, D. Burke, T. O’Hanrahan, J. Farrell, D. Waugh. Subs: A. Burke for D. Waugh, 44 mins; E. Tennyson for Murphy, 47 mins; D. Prendergast for D. Burke, 52 mins.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.