18 Aug 2022

Sweet success, home and away!

Sweet success, home and away!

The Kilkenny flag was flown with pride as a number of local athletes made their mark on the international stage at the weekend.

The Athletics Ireland squad who competed in the Great Edinburgh Cross-Country had no fewer than six local athletes - five from Kilkenny City Harriers (KCH) and one from Castlecomer.

Senior athlete Eoin Everard (KCH) was a member of the 4x1km mixed relay team who won the bronze medals in their event. Aoibhe Richardson (KCH) was the third scorer on the women’s under-23 team who won their Celtic International event.

A great performance in the junior men’s 6km race saw Peter Lynch (KCH) cross the line as the individual winner of the Celtic Cross junior men’s event, leading the Irish squad to team gold in the same race.

Adam Fitzpatrick (KCH) was a member of the under-17 development squad, Lauren Dermody (Castlecomer) was a member of the junior women’s development squad while Annie McEvoy (KCH) was part of the under-17 development squad.


Bramblestown was the venue for the county masters and junior cross-country championships on Sunday.

Conditions were ideal for cross-country running, with host club Gowran providing a fair but challenging course which was reasonably firm underfoot.

The biggest juvenile race of the day was the boys’ under-10 event, with no fewer than five club teams taking part. The race was won by Joseph O’Connor (St Joseph’s) while Gowran took the team prizes. There were some excellent displays from young athletes in the other juvenile races, particularly from the Thomastown and Gowran clubs.

Cormac Buggy (Gowran) was the winner of the junior men’s race. He was joined on the winners podium by club mates David O’Carroll and Jack Walsh.

In the senior women’s M30 race the battle for top honours was between Gowran’s Sharon Cleere and Donna Dowling (KCH), with the Gowran athlete winning out in the end. However team gold went to KCH with Catriona Corr and Barbara Rossiter completing the team for the city club. Team silver went to St Joseph’s.

Gowran were to the fore in the Men’s masters 35 race also, where a gun to tape victory was secured with some ease by Derek Kehoe.

The Gowran athlete has dominated the local masters scene for the past few months to add to an excellent run in the Dublin Marathon. Second and third places were also filled by Gowran athletes Simon O’Dwyer and Lyndon Barcoe the bronze.

With the Gowran team scoring the perfect six (1 + 2+ 3 pts = 6) they ran out easy winners of the shield. The battle for team silver was a much closer affair with KCH and St Joseph’s finishing level on points. In the end second place went to the Tullogher Rosbercon club on countback. Thomastown were fourth, while Gowran’s second team finished in fifth place.

Thanks went to the O’Donnell Family for the use of their lands for the event.

This weekend the action moves to Kilmacow, where St Senan’s host the Leinster senior cross-country championships and juvenile club relays. There will also be an open races for junior athletes. The start time is set for 12 noon.

On the Road

St Joseph’s were well represented in the rescheduled Waterford half marathon on Saturday. The Saints were led home by Sally Forristal in 1:25:31.

Other runners included David Lanigan (1:29:43), Dean Rowe (1:30:40), Paul Sheehan (1:30:25), Maria Griffin (1:32:55) and Tom McDonald (1:32:58). Mary Doolan finished in 1:38:07 while Duncan O’Shaughnessy (1:43:41), Mary McDonald (2:07:28) and Catherine Hennessy (2:19:46) also got their competitive years off to a great start.


The first medals won by the St Joseph’s club in 2016 were claimed by race-walking duo John Joe and Brid Lawlor.

Competing as guests at the Munster Indoor Championships in Nenagh, Brid won gold in the Masters event, with John Joe scoring a respectable fourth place finish.


Results, county cross-country (club code: CC = Castlecomer, G = Gowran, KCH = Kilkenny City Harriers, SJ = St Joseph’s, SS = St Senan’s, TT = Thomastown):

Girls’ U-8: 1 Mary Kate Ryan (TT), 2 Martha Bergin (KCH), 3 Kate Hayden (G), 4 Aisling Mullally (SJ), 5 Molly Drennan (G), 6 Kaitlin Wade (G), 7 Orla Carroll (G).

Boys’ U-8: 1 Mathus Qudaglia, 2 Kyle Bolger (SJ), 3 Sam McAviney (G), 4 Robert Lacey (KCH), 5 Kieran Mullally (SJ), 6 Daragh Roche (G), 7 Tom Fenlon (G), 8 Dylan Drennan (G), 9 Tom Carpenter (G), 10 Conor Carroll (G).

Girls’ U-10: 1 Hazel Coogan (G), 2 Eve Dunphy (SS), 3 Ava Mullally (SJ), 4 Caoimhe Power (TT), 5 Aobhainn Coady (G), 6 Sarah Foley (SJ), 7 Laura Egan (G), 8 Eva O’Keeffe (G), 9 Paulina F (G), 10 Celia Leamy (G). Teams - 1 Gowran.

Boys’ U-10: 1 Joseph O’Connor (SJ), 2 Daragh Dunne (G), 3 Isaac Carew (SS), 4 Aaron Doyle (G), 5 Liam O’Dwyer (G), 6 James Grogan (KCH), 7 Tom Kehoe (G), 8 Albi Paul (G), 9 Patrick Lacey (KCH), 10 Tommy Walsh (TT), 11 Rian Shefflin (TT), 12 Luke Browne (KCH), 13 Daragh Dack (TT), 14 Ben Drennan (G), 15 Charlie Ryan (G), 16 James O’Reilly (TT), 17 Michael Holland (G), 18 Tom Delaney (G). Teams - 1 Gowran, 2 KCH, 3 Gowran, 4 Thomastown, 5 Gowran.

Girls’ U-12: 1 Maria O’Keeffe (TT), 2 Orlaith Kirwan (TT), 3 Maria Connolly (G), 4 Rosie Farrell (G), 5 Leah Suji (G), 6 Aisling Browne (KCH), 7 Niamh Galway (TT), 8 Sarah Walsh (TT). Teams - 1 Thomastown, 2 Gowran.

Boys’ U-12: 1 Billy Coogan (G), 2 Daragh Carpenter (G), 3 Noah Scully (G), 4 Jimmy Maher (TT), 5 Oisin O’Reilly (TT), 6 Patrick Purcell (G), 7 Niall Carpenter (G), 8 Oran O’Keeffe (G), 9 Cian Scully (G), 10 Matt McAvinney (G), 11 Noah Connolly (G), 12 Patrick Wade (G). Teams - 1 Gowran, 2 Gowran, 3 Gowran.

Girls’ U-14: 1 Fiona Dillon (TT), 2 Hannah O’Keeffe (TT), 3 Hannah Kehoe (G), 4 Anna Cass (TT), 5 Eve O’Dwyer (G), 6 Caoimhe Coady (G), 7 Aine McDonald (SJ), 8 Erin Foley (SJ), 9 Robyn Denieffe (G), 10 Grace Walsh (TT), 11 Niamh O’Connor (SJ). Teams - 1 Thomastown, 2 Gowran, 3 St Joseph’s.

Boys’ U-14: 1 Cathal O’Reilly (CC), 2 Billy Power (TT), 3 Killian Dunne (G), 4 Jamie O’Connor (SJ), 5 Matt Holland (G), 6 Brogan McAviney (G), 7 Danny Glennon (SJ), 8 Paul Kirwan (TT). Teams - 1 Gowran.

Girls’ U-16: 1 Ciara O’Keeffe (TT), 2 Ellen Ryan (TT), 3 Orla O’Keeffe (TT), 4 Sinead O’Keeffe (TT). Teams - 1 Thomastown.

Boys’ U-16: 1 Henry Farrell (G), 2 David Holland (G).

Junior Men: 1 Cormac Buggy (G), 2 David O’Carroll (G), 3 Jack Walsh (G).

Senior Women (M30): 1 Sharon Cleere (G), 2 Donna Dowling (KCH), 3 Catriona Corr (KCH), 4 Barbara Rossiter (KCH), 5 Michelle Ryan (G), 6 Hanorah O Connor (SJ), 7 Siobhan Mullally (SJ), 8 Mag Helen O’Connor (SJ). Teams - 1 KCH, 2 St Joseph’s.

Senior Men (M35): 1 Derek Kehoe (G), 2 Simon O’Dwyer (G), 3 Lyndon Barcoe (G), 4 Niall Lacey (KCH), 5 Stephen O’Connor (SJ), 6 John Maye (KCH), 7 Patrick Bookle (KCH), 8 Pat Coady (G), 9 Tommy Shefflin (TT), 10 Tom Walsh (TT), 11 Paul Sheehan (SJ), 12 Muiris Bric (G), 13 Paul Watkins (KCH), 14 Derek Dack (TT), 15 J.J. Lawlor (SJ), 16 Pat Lennon (G), 17 James Delahunty (G), 18 Willie McTiernan (KCH). Teams - 1 Gowran, 2 St Joseph’s, 3 KCH, 4 Thomastown, 5 Gowran.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.