18 Aug 2022

Derby finals promise hurling treats

Derby finals promise hurling treats

This weekend two very attractive local derbies will be featured when the Northern junior ‘A’ and ‘B’ hurling championships finals will be played.

On Saturday in Jenkinstown (6.30pm) St Lachtain’s (Freshford ) take on their neighbours Lisdowney in the final of the ’A’ championship.

This will be the 43rd junior ‘A’ final to be played. In that time St Lachtain’s have played in six of them, winning one in 2009 when they beat the Fenians (Johnstown) by 0-10 to 0-8.

Lisdowney have played in two finals and they won one of them in 2014 when they beat the Fenians.

On their way to the finals Lisdowney beat St Patrick’s and O’Loughlin Gaels, scoring 4-27 while conceding 1-30.

Two wins

St Lachtain’s beat Conahy Shamrocks and Graigue-Ballycallan, scoring 4-24 and conceding 0-27

In the ‘B’ final, which will be played in Bennettsbridge on Sunday (12.15pm), James Stephens will feature in their sixth decider.

They won three of them while opponents Dicksboro’s only appearance in the final was in 1996 when they were beaten by Tullaroan by 1-10 to 1-5.

Both teams have impressed in their games to date with wins for Dicksboro over Erin’s own, Galmoy, and Bennettsbridge, while scoring 4-50.

There were wins for James Stephens over Cloneen and Threecastles and they scored 5-27.

Lisdowney panel - Joe Bergin, Peter Bergin, John Brennan, Eoin Delahunty, Stephen Delaney, Jack Dunphy, Niall Grogan, Edward Kenny, Padraig Kenny, Eoin Lyons, Paul Murphy, Laurance O’ Carroll, Kevin O’ Sullivan, Jamie Bergin, Paddy Bowden, Brian Campion, Ray Fitzpatrick, Brian Kavanagh, Niall Kenny, William Kenny, Darragh Mackey, Alan Murphy, Peter O’Sullivan

James Stephens panel - Adam Butler, Jack Butler, Peter Butler. Eamonn Fennelly, Cormac Connolly, Colm Dowling, Brendan Dowling, Mikey Drennan, Martin Grace, Ben Lawlor, Ian Hayes, Stevie Hoyne, Hugh Lane, Niall Lanigan, Anthony Lawlor, James Meehan, John Meehan, Keith Morris, Keith Mulcahy, Joe Murray, Ray O’Keeffe, Shane O’Neill, Damien Phelan, Andy Parsons, William Spencer, Niall Tyrrell, James Walton, Alex Watchorn, Liam Rafter, David Byrne, Brien O’Neill.

Dicksboro panel - Richie Stapleton, Jamie Lynch, Ciaran Gough, Sean treacy, Robert Crotty, Aidan Nolan, Evan carroll, Enda O’Donoghue, Tom Kenny, Alan Phelan, Kieran Ryan, Edward Moylan, Peter Fitzpatrick, Cillian Breathnach, Shane O’Brien, John Hanrick, Ronan Butler, Cian Butler, Graham Egan, Shane stableton, Eoin McCormack, Liam Kennedy, David Ryan, Kieran Dunne, Dara Lynch, Willie Cuddihy, Billy Rowe

St Lachtain’s panel - Stephen Farrell, Shane Dalton, James Meagher, John Bowden, Denis Lennon, John Doheny, Brendan Quinn, John Quinn, Philip Campion, Robbie Dowling, Michael Farrell, John Campion, Keith Hughes, Paul White, Daragh Quinn, Shay Burke, Mark Nolan, Patrick Maher, Harry Burke, Michael Burke, Criobheann Bergin, Alexander Rafter.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.