11 Aug 2022

Tip top Tipp are Premier boys again

Tip top Tipp are Premier boys again
By John Knox @johnknoxkk

The Kilkenny All-Ireland three in-a-row dream was wrecked by red hot Tipperary in the senior hurling final in Croke Park this afternoon.

The Premier County are the premier hurling team again after a no disputes 2-29 to 2-20 victory which earned them their 27th MacCarthy Cup success.

Kilkenny were over powered by super charged opposition during the second half as a flood of possession was turned into account by red hot attackers on the inside line, Seamus Callanan, John O'Dwyer and John McGrath.

Between them the trio scored 2-21, with Callanan the top marksman with 0-13.

The opening half exchanges were nip and tuck, with Kilkenny generally leading the way on the scoreboard if not always in terms of possession.

However, Tipp went in for the rest 0-14 to 0-12 in front courtesy of points from Callanan and a gigantic free from 80 metres by John O'Dwyer.

Kilkenny snatched a goal through Kevin Kelly in the 42nd minute to win back the lead, 1-14 to 0-15.

Tipp never even blinked. Within two minutes they were back level.

Within another two they were 1-18 to 1-14 in front, thanks to a minor from Callanan following a lovely flowing move involving John McGrath and Brendan Maher and then a goal from John O'Dwyer.

From there to the finish it was foot to the floor stuff from the Premier men, who ran out deserving winners as they bridged the gap to 2010 since their last success.

Kilkenny - Eoin Murphy; Paul Murphy, Joey Holden, Shane Prendergast (capt); Padraig Walsh, Kieran Joyce, Cillian Buckley; T.J. Reid, Conor Fogarty; Walter Walsh, Richie Hogan, Eoin Larkin; Kevin Kelly, Colin Fennelly, Liam Blanchfield. Subs - Robert Lennon for K. Joyce; Lester Ryan for Larkin.

Tipperary - Darren Gleeson; Cathal Barrett, James Barry, Michael Cahill; Seamus Kennedy, Ronan Maher, Padraic Maher; Brendan Maher, Michael Breen; Dan McCormack, Patrick Maher, Noel McGrath; John O'Dwyer, Seamus Callanan, John McGrath. subs - Jason Forde for Breen; Niall O'Meara for McCormack; Donagh Maher for Cahill; Kieran Bergin for N. McGrath; Tomas Hamill for S. Kennedy

Referee - Brian Gavin (Offaly).

Pictured is Tipp attacker, Seamus Callanan. He scored 0-13 in the final as Tipp won their first All-Ireland since 2010.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.