13 Aug 2022

Four chosen as All-Stars

Four chosen as All-Stars

Walter Walsh won his first All-Star award. He will be hoping to add an intermediate winners medal to his collection in the county final on Sunday

It was three first timers for Kilkenny and a fourth award for former Hurler of the Year, Richie Hogan, when the All-Stars hurling team was announced tonight.

Eoin Murphy (Glenmore), Padraig Walsh (Tullaroan) and Walter Walsh (Tullogher-Rosbercon) were all honoured as All-Star hurlers for the first time.

Richie Hogan (Danesfort), who was Hurler of the Year in 2014, was picked as an All-Star for the fourth time.

Murphy filled the goalkeeping position while the Tullaroan man was picked in defence. Walter Walsh, who plays in the intermediate final with his club on Sunday against Carrickshock, was chosen in attack with Hogan. 

Murphy (26) has won four senior All-Irelands and three National Leagues; Padraig Walsh (24) has two All-Ireland senior medals among his collection, as well as three National League, while Walter Walsh (25) is the holder of three All-Irelands winners medals and two National Leagues.

Richie Hogan (28) is among the most decorated players in the game. He joined the Kilkenny senior panel in 2007 and has since amassed seven senior All-Ireland winners medals, eight Leinster championships and four National Leagues.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.