10 Aug 2022

Farrell is medal winner in Leinster

Farrell is medal winner in Leinster

Jonjo Farrell (Thomastown)

Kilkenny hurler Jonjo Farrell and Dublin footballer Diarmuid Connolly are the inaugural winners of the Pearse Medal for 2016.

The duo were selected as the outstanding performers in the 2016 Leinster GAA senior hurling and football championships.

Leinster chairman John Horan presented Jonjo and Diarmuid with a specially commissioned Padraig Pearse medal in recognition of their achievement, which is part of the province’s activity to mark the Centenary of the Rising and also symbolises the link between Comhairle Laighean and Pearse.

Jonjo Farrell was a scoring revelation for Kilkenny in the Leinster championship. The Thomastown forward scored 2-9 from play in the victories over Dublin and Galway as the Cats secured a third straight Bob O’Keeffe cup.

Diarmuid Connolly had another stellar season for the Dublin footballers. The St Vincent’s All-Star was man of the match for the Dubs in their wins over Laois and Meath and helped them overcome Westmeath in the Leinster final for what was a record equalling sixth Delaney Cup in a row.

Meanwhile, Leinster have announced their squads for this weekend’s inter-provincial football and hurling semi-finals.

The Leinster footballers play Connacht on Saturday (6pm) in Parnell Park, Dublin. They are managed by Sean Kelly (Meath), John Doyle (Kildare) and Jason Sherlock (Dublin).

The Leinster hurlers are managed by Dublin’s Ciaran Hetherton, Kilkenny’s Michael Kavanagh and Wicklow’s Don Hyland. They play Connacht in Nenagh this Saturday (2.45pm).

Admission to the matches in €10 for adults with children under-16 admitted free.

Leinster hurling v Connacht -  1 Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny); 2 Shane Barrett (Dublin), 3 Tommy Doyle (Westmeath), 4 Liam Ryan (Wexford); 5 Padraig Walsh (Kilkenny), 6 Kieran Joyce (Kilkenny), 7 Chris Crummey (Dublin); 8 Conor Fogarty (Kilkenny), 9 Sean Ryan (Offaly); 10 Walter Walsh (Kilkennny), 11 Lee Chin (Wexford), 12 Charles Dwyer (Laois); 13 Shane Dooley (Offaly), 14 Conor McDonald (Wexford), 15 Colin Fennelly (Kilkenny). Subs - 16 James Dooley (Offaly), 17 Eamon Dillon (Dublin), 18 Adam Gannon (Meath), 19 Robbie Greville (Westmeath), 20 Damien Healy (Meath), 21 Martin Kavanagh (Carlow), 22 Gerry Keegan (Kildare), 23 David King (Offaly), 24 Dennis Murphy (Carlow), 25 Ryan O’Dwyer (Dublin), 26 Matthew Whelan (Laois).

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.