10 Aug 2022

Hogan leads Kilkenny to Walsh Cup win

Kilkenny 0-20, Galway 0-18

Hogan leads Kilkenny to Walsh Cup win

Richie Hogan - he scored 11 points

Team captain Richie Hogan helped himself to 11 points as Kilkenny won their 20th Walsh Cup senior hurling tournament final at Nowlan Park today.

The Cats finished with 14 men, Pat Lyng having been sent off after being shown a second yellow card in the 56th minute, and Galway chased really hard from there to the finish.

The visitors were five points down at that time (0-13 to 0-18), but while they closed the gap afterwards, they couldn't bridge the divide.

The winners started with six of their All-Ireland team, and the strong half back line of Kieran Joyce, Paul Murphy and Conor Fogarty gave them a solid basis in defence. With eight scores from Hogan, they built up a lead of 0-13 to 0-10 by the break.

 Galway, with Jason Forde, Aidan Tuohy, Aidan Harte and Conor Whelan hurling well, were still 0-16 to 0-12 down in the 43rd minute, and the loss of centre-back Martin Dolphin with a back injury shortly afterwards interrupted their flow.

The game was delayed for nearly nine minutes at that stage, but Dolphin was reported to be fine afterwards.

Kilkenny hit a point through Ollie Walsh when play resumed, but Galway kept up the chase with a score from Flynn. Lester Ryan added another for the winners, but Galway won the late exchanges, landing five scores to Kilkenny's two from the 68th minute onwards.

Play actually ran to 79 minutes because of the delay when Dolphin was injured. 

Scorers: Kilkenny - R. Hogan (0-11, seven frees, two 62s); O. Walsh (0-3); L Ryan (0-2); K. Joyce, C. Fogarty, P. Lyng, C. Martin (0-1 each). Galway - J. Flynn (0-6, five frees); J. Cooney, D. Glennon (0-2 each); S. Maloney (0-2, one free); C. Callanan (0-1, free); A. Tuohy, A. Harte, J. Coen, S. McInerney, T. Monaghan (0-1 each).

Kilkenny - E. Murphy; J. Holden, R. Lennon, M. Walsh; K. Joyce, P. Murphy, C. Fogarty; O. Walsh, L. Ryan; P. Lyng, C. Martin, M. Malone; R. Hogan, J.J. Farrell, R. Leahy. Subs - C. O'Shea for C. Fogarty ht; L. Blanchfield for Malone 42nd min; S. Morrissey for Leahy 52nd min; J. Maher for Martin 61st min; A. Murphy for Farrell 70th min.

Galway - C. Callanan; B. Flaherty, J. Hanbury, J. Grealish; A. Tuohy, M. Dolphin, A. Harte; J. Coen, D. Nevin; S. Maloney, J. Cooney, D. Glennon; S. McInerney, J. Flynn, C. Whelan. Sub - T. Monaghan for Nevin 28th min; M Donohoe for Grealish ht; G. McInerney for Dolphin (inj) 50th min; P. Flaherty for S. McInerney 59th min; K. McHugo for C. Whelan 64th min.

Referee - P. Murphy (Carlow). 


To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.